Need help? Contact us!
- Email us
- Law library faculty & staff directory
- Schedule an online appointment with a Reference Librarian (Limited to College of Law students, faculty and staff)
- Law library home page
Happy Constitution Day 2022!
Mural of George Washington receiving the draft of the Constitution from James Madison, National Archives Building in Washington, DC, https://www.archives.gov/news/topics/constitution-day
The United States Constitution was signed on September 17, 1787, and the Law Library is celebrating its 235th anniversary with special Constitution Day themed displays and free copies of the Constitution. Stop by to view and check out a selection of related print materials, or browse the eResources linked below.
Additionally, all are invited to join the Constitution Day program presented by Professor Evan Bernick on Monday, September 19th from 12-1 pm in Swen Parson Room 188.
- Civil Rights and Social Justice {Hein} This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline’s Civil Rights database brings together over 3,000 publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislations, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still. A curated list of scholarly articles, a varied collection of books on many civil rights topics, and a list of prominent civil rights organizations help take the research beyond HeinOnline.
- The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation("Constitution Annotated" or "CONAN") provides a legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based on a comprehensive review of Supreme Court case law and, where relevant, historical practices that have defined the text of the Constitution. This regularly updated resource is written in "plain English" and useful for a wide audience: from constitutional scholars to those just beginning to learn about the nation's most important legal document.
- The Library of Congress, American Memory, Documents from the Continental Constitutional Convention, 1774-1789Includes the Continental Congress Broadside Collection, the Constitutional Convention Broadside Collection, and early printed versions of the U.S. Constitution and the Declaration of Independence. Access full color scanned images as well as text versions of documents. Full text searchable.
- OyezCases from 1792 to present. Oyez provides a summary of the facts of the case, question(s) presented, and the Court's conclusion. Links to the full text opinion provided by Justia. In addition, the Oyez Project is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. The site also reports voting details in every case back to 1953.
- Supreme Court of the United StatesThis is the Court's official Web site. The docket page provides information regarding the status of cases for both the current term and the prior term. Users can search by using a Supreme Court docket number, a lower court docket number, or a case name. There are also links to court rules, opinions, and orders. The opinions are posted on this site within hours after the bench opinions are issued and remain posted until the opinions are published in a bound volume of the U.S. Reports.
- World Constitutions Illustrated: Contemporary & Historical Documents & Resources {Hein} This link opens in a new windowThis library enables legal scholars to research the constitutional and political development of every country in the world, including the United States. It also includes constitutional periodicals, thousands of classic books, other related works such as the World Fact Book, links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographic references.