Law Library News: Recent Updates

April Happenings in the Law Library

National Library Week

This year, National Library Week is April 7th through 13th, and we're excited to celebrate with you! Since 1958, this national observance celebrates everything that libraries and library staff have to offer, encouraging everyone to engage with and support libraries of all types, whether public, academic, school, or special libraries. 

In honor of this celebration, we'll spruce up the Law Library with decorations, offer themed relaxation activities, provide tasty and healthy snacks, and encourage students, faculty, and other library users to make the most of our resources. Stop by to see what's happening, then post to social media (#HowILibrary) about how you're "librarying" for a chance to win a prize offered by the American Library Association. 

National Library Week also contains special celebration days, including Right to Read Day (Monday, April 8th), when readers are encouraged to celebrate and advocate for the freedom to read without fear of bans or censorship. The ALA will also release its 2023 Top Ten Challenged Books list, as part of the State of America's Libraries Report, which we'll post in the Law Library to increase awareness. (4/8 Update: you can check out all the Top 10 at Founders Library or request through I-Share.) Right to Read Day is also a great day for activism, so check out ways you can Unite Against Book Bans by contacting your U.S. Congressperson, registering to vote, donating, and getting involved locally.

Resources for Review 

As you're looking ahead to finals, remember that the Law Library offers dozens of review books covering all doctrinal areas and many specialized topics. As finals approach, popular study guides will be on display in the Current Collection: feel free to check them out! More study guides and review materials can be found in our Browsable Reserves collection, just to the left of the Circulation Desk. 

If you can't get to the library or prefer digital study aids, we also have a wide selection of eBooks and databases covering all the topics you may need. We have two especially useful collections when you're studying for finals: LexisNexis Digital Study Aids and Aspen Learning Library:

• LexisNexis contains the "Understanding" series of study aids, as well as a variety of other titles, and you can sign in using your NIU credentials.
• Aspen provides access to the Examples & Explanations, Emanuel, and Casenote series of study aids, among other titles, and you'll log in there using your Z-ID as a library card number.

If you have any questions or problems with accessing these or any other online resources, please reach out to a librarian or stop by the Law Library.

Library Access During Finals

Based on recent requests, the Law Library will be open only to current law students during the finals period this semester. Starting on Tuesday, April 23th through Friday, May 10th, the Law Library entrance doors will remain locked, so access will be provided via OneCard.

Law Library users and visitors not currently affiliated with the College of Law are welcome to reach out via lawreference@niu.edu with research questions. Also, items from our circulating collections can be requested for pickup at Founders or other I-Share libraries around Illinois via the HuskieSearch catalog. 

The Law Library will still be staffed by librarians and/or student staff during its normal operating hours. Students whose OneCards are not working should ask at the Circulation Desk for assistance or email Prof. Timko. Good luck to everyone studying for finals!