Southeast Asian Studies: Online Research Resources

This site has information and links about plants and animals in Brunei/Borneo.

The Griffith Asia Institute (GAI) is an internationally recognised research centre in the Griffith Business School. GAI aims to be the informed voice leading Australia's strategic engagement in the Asia Pacific by cultivating knowledge, capabilities and connections that will inform and enrich Australia's Asia-Pacific future. GAI's focus is on conducting and supporting excellent and relevant research on the politics, security, economies and development of the Asia-Pacific region; facilitating effective partnerships and policy outcomes for positive impact in the region; leading and informing public debate on Australia's place in the Asia Pacific; and shaping the next generation of Asia-Pacific leaders.

This is a collection of old research articles about culture and history of Burma. Type a related topic in search after connecting to the link.

This site collects and stores statements about political, social and historical events of Burma.

This site contains 771 manuscripts, notes and scanned photographs from his late 19th century work in Cambodia.

Contains at least six Cambodian colonial-period documents.

Online downloadable digital photographic archive.

This resource contains: online bibliographies called Echoes de la recherche (2003-2020), “lecture spaces” on themes like pre-Angkorian & Angkorian Cambodia, Khmer ethnogrpahy, Indochinese belief, Islam in peninsular Indochina, etc. Each “espace lecture” contains scanned articles (like Remusat 1819, Auboyer 1931) that could be part of a repository, concise biographies of key Khmer personalities (“Hommes & Destins”) in downloadable pdf format, links to other Cambodia sites (Sitographie).

This site contains database, texts and pictures related to the genocide in Cambodia.

A collection of Cambodian newspapers in the 1990s, a transition period when Cambodia emerged from a communist to a liberal democratic state.

Online Newspapers.com collection of Cambodian newspapers in English and Khmer.

The cremation ceremony of the king of Cambodia Norodom Suramarit, who died on June 26, 1960. A traditional Buddhist parade carries the urn of royal ashes, follows the parade of international political leaders.

This is a digital collection of photographs of Cambodian holocaust survivors.

This site provides full download of articles about Cambodia. Type a related topic in search after connecting to the link.

This is a website of a non-governmental organization in Cambodia. It contains documentaries, publications and study information about the genocide in Cambodia.

A big market, Chinese people eat in the street. The streets of Hong Kong and its activities. A palace. A Cambodian village and a few peasants. A civil demonstration against American presence.

An archive of everyday photography from before and after Khmer Rouge period.

A collection of online open-access scholarly resources focuses on the Indochinese region, but contains abundant resources on pre-modern Cambodia.

An inventory of Khmer manuscripts compiled by Ecole Francais D'Extreme-Orient. This is part of an EFEO project to find/conserve/digitize/put online 19th-20th century paper books (kraing) and latania palm leaf manuscript bundles (ollas of ststras and van) found in Cambodian pagoda libraries (80% of collections had been destroyed). Most items in Khmer, not Pali.

Built in 967, the small sanctuary of Banteay Srei can be considered a masterpiece of Khmer sculpture. The preservation of this heritage is the work of the father of Khmer archeology, Henri Marchal. Bernard-Philippe Groslier, who directs the conservation of the Angkor site, testifies in this documentary to the work to preserve the Khmer splendors. Documentary in French.

From the 7th to the 12th century AD, during the Western High Middle Ages, the Khmer Empire was a brilliant, powerful and incomparably organized state, home to a very large population for the time. Its heart, the plain of Angkor, is an active "rice factory". Thanks to an improved irrigation system, it produces three crops a year, ensuring the prosperity of the inhabitants. The landscape is dotted with immense lakes retaining water and it is traversed by a network of countless canals. Palaces and above all temples with incomparable splendor testify to the building genius of an inspired people. Documentary in French.

The Bayon, the temple that forms the heart of the city of Angkor-Thom, was built in 1181 by the last great ruler of ancient Cambodia. The building is surrounded by a forest of fifty-four towers. On each of them appear four faces of the Buddha, turned towards the four cardinal points. Documentary in French.

The MimiJac Palgen Memorial Collection includes original photographs, photographic negatives, slides, support literature, 8 regional decorative objects and assorted postcards, cards and flyers of Cambodia, Thailand, Vietnam and Indonesia, 1946 to 1982.

This collection includes 309 photographs of Cambodian images, people, and manuscripts. Photographs can be accessed, but not used without purchase.

This site provides information about situation of Cambodia before and during the Khmer Rouge. It also contains stories of survivors of the Khmer Rouge period.

Templemountains.org is a project of the Angkor and Beyond Resource Group, an informal collaboration by former visitors who wanted to learn more about these remarkable temples.

Objects collected in the Netherlands East Indies between 1870 and 1940.

KITLV Collection

National Security Archive declassified documents also available through ProQuest https://www.proquest.com/dnsa/advanced.

A collection of the Nederlands Fotomuseum

British Library digitization project in collaborations with Sultan Hamengku Buwono X, Governor of the Special Region of Yogyakarta

Provides information on the history, migration, governance, cultural identity, arts and culture, music, and heritage of the Mandailing people living in Indonesia and Malaysia.

A collection of over 300,000 books, datasets and journal articles from Indonesia, funded by the National Library of Indonesia.

This University of Texas at Austin collection contains various maps of Indonesia including country maps, city maps, detailed maps, thematic maps, and historical maps.

Provides a timeline of Indonesian history.

The Digital Library of Lao Manuscripts makes images of over 12,000 texts from throughout Laos easily accessible for study. Collaborating institutions are the National Library of Laos, the University of Passau, and the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin Preußischer Kulturbesitz. The project is funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) and the German Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ).

This website contains a digital collection of 3004 photographs from Laos and 202 from the Philippines. Type a related topic in search after connecting to the link or browse the collection by its category.

This websites provides socio-political and cultural overviews of Laos. Click on fields of interests for further reading.

This website contains a collection of 199 contemporary pictures of Malaysia.

This is the University of Michigan Library’s Southeast Asia Collection of full text monographs and government documents published in the United States, Spain and the Philippines between 1870 and 1925.

This website holds a collection of old Philippines maps. It provides online version of a scanned-quality map produced by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.

This website contains a collection of 301 pictures of the Philippines, taken in 2000.

This website contains a digital photograph collection from the Philippines during the American colonial period and Laos in 1957, 1959 and 1969.

This website contains a collection of 95 pictures of Singapore, taken in 2000.

This website contains a collection of 270 old and contemporary pictures of Thailand.

This is a collection of 175 black and white photographs about military, economy and political activities during the war period. Each picture comes with introduction and description and is classified into different themes.

This website contains a collection of 1502 contemporary photographs of Vietnam.

This is a searchable database that allows users to search for prisoner profiles by name, year of arrest, charges, length of sentence, gender, religion, ethnicity, areas of activism, and current status. You can use these criteria separately or in combination. On the home page, users can also conveniently see the number of prisoners who are currently in pre-trial detention or serving a sentence, as well as the numbers of female and ethnic minorities prisoners (who, unfortunately, are often overlooked). Many detailed profiles are already available for many prisoners. You could sort the list by "most recently updated" to get the latest updates. Updates on political prisoners and social movements in general, as well as related news, are also available via our weekly newsletters.

This website provides reference documents related to researches and studies guides about the Vietnam War.

The Vietnam Center and Sam Johnson Vietnam Archive collects and preserves the documentary record of the Vietnam War, and supports and encourages research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam Experienc

Discussions of Vietnamese Studies scholars and resources for Vietnamese Studies.

The ASEAN Digital Library is a regional project to aggregate and connect the digitized resources of National Libraries in the ASEAN region so that these repositories can be accessed through a single search facility. ASEAN Digital Library has 8 resources relating to Cambodia.

This websites contains information about ASEAN countries and region.

This is a project by the Yale University for a collection of war documents in the Indochina-Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos.

The Buddhist Digital Resource Center is dedicated to preserving and sharing Buddhist texts through the union of technology and scholarship.

A French research centre based in Bangkok, offers open-access publications on the region and each Southeast Asian country.

Full text recent reports and briefings on the following Southeast Asian Countries: Burma/Myanmar, Cambodia, Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Timor-Leste.

Classic monographs digitized through the Luce digitization project at the University of Hawaii, Manoa.

Diasporic digital resources from Lowell.

This research guide lists periodicals, newspapers, and serials in Southeast Asian and other Asian languages (e.g., Burmese, Malay, Chinese) available in the Asian Reading Room and European languages in the Newspaper and Current Periodical Reading Room.

This site provides full download of old texts and rare book collections about Southeast Asia. Type a related topic in search after connecting to the link.

The Archive's collection is broad and interdisciplinary in documenting the social, cultural, religious, political, and economic life of members of the Cambodian, Hmong, Laotian, and Vietnamese diaspora. Collection strengths include Southeast Asian American experiences of resettlement and community formations since the Vietnam War, Cambodian Genocide, and geopolitical turmoil in the former French-occupied "Indochina" in the latter half of the 20th century.