LibGuides: Southeast Asian Studies: Articles and Databases

The SEA Digital Library

The Southeast Asia Digitial Library: digitized library materials from Southeast Asia, including manuscripts, books, archival materials, videos, TV programs, photos, databases; materials are organized by format and country.

SEA Related Databases

(Most of the databases require users to sign in with their NIU accounts.
For the complete list of databases available at NIU, click here)

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
The bibliography of Asian Studies contains over 410,000 records on all fields of study (especially the social sciences and the humanities) relating to East, South and Southeast Asia published worldwide since 1971. Up to 1991, citations to western-language periodical articles, individual monographs, chapters in edited volumes, anthologies, memorial works and conference proceedings. A listing of the 100 most important periodicals in Asian studies is provided. Browsing is available by region, country, subject, and journal title. Abstracts Only.
ProQuest Digital Dissertations and Theses @ Northern Illinois University This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Digital Dissertations and Theses @ Northern Illinois University--The database represents a subset of Dissertation Abstracts focused exclusively on dissertations and theses penned at Northern Illinois University. Although not complete, full-text is available for the bulk of the materials submitted to the NIU Graduate College.

Academic search complete
Indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings,and full-text access to over 5,000 journals. (Database for NIU users only)
Alexander Street Streaming Video (Academic Video Online)
Alexander Street Streaming Video - this is an alternative site for Academic Video Online which features a single, fully integrated platform, offering access to tens of thousands of full-length streaming video titles. Virtually every video in the collection is fully transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type.
American Foreign Relations since 1600--The SHAFR Guide Online
The SHAFR Guide Online: An Annotated Bibliography of U.S. Foreign Relations since 1600 is a near-comprehensive, 2.1 million-word online annotated bibliography of historical work covering the entire span of U.S. foreign relations. (No full text).
Anthropology Research Sources
Digital Library of Lao Manuscripts (DLLM)
13,000 images of texts from Laos
JSTOR
An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal.
Political Science
Project Muse
This database provides full text, full image of nearly 100 scholarly journals from Johns Hopkins Press and other scholarly publishers. Provides searching of full text
across all journals in the database, selected journal titles, or in just a single title.
Researching Indochina: Archives in Việt Nam and Cambodia
An outline of library and archival resources for French Indochina (UW)
Women's and Gender Studies