Skip to main content

Skip navigation

Southeast Asian Studies Library Resources: Archival Collections

Finding Aids for SEA Archival Collections

 

The Donn V. Hart Southeast Asia Collection includes a number of archival collections of research materials donated to NIU by scholars of Southeast Asian Studies. These collections can be viewed onside in the Reading Room of the Rare Books and Special Collections, located on the 4th floor of the main library. Finding aids for the archival collections are linked to the titles of the collections in the list below, and also available on the ARCHON database.  

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-Bea Wehrly Collection

Journal articles, mailings from D.C. offices addressing the refugee situation, as well as research reports from Minneapolis, San Diego, and Philadelphia and a copy of Dr. Wehrly's study of Indochinese students in Illinois schools.

-Edward Law-Yone Papers

Articles about different aspects of Burmese society, from politics to folklore, to Buddhism, includes some personal materials, as well as a manuscript of My Life, Edward Law-Yone's autobiography. 

-May Ebihara Collection 

Mostly teaching materials and papers, also includes photos of Ebihara's travels and research in Cambodia, and a review of Usha Welaratna’s Beyond the Killing Fields, and various other pamphlets and brochures.

-Paul J. Bennett Collection

Contains Dr. Bennett’s research on Burma in the form of primary and secondary sources such as newspaper articles (both clippings and photocopies) in English and Burmese, papers, handwritten notes, short stories, photos, correspondences, statements by various government agencies, and book chapters. 

-Field notes, Donn V. Hart

Manuscript and research materials related to Donn V. Hart's research for his 1954 book Barrio Caticugan : a Visayan Filipino community.

-Kenton Clymer Cambodia Collection

Documents and notes from the collection of Professor Clymer chiefly on Cambodian history, politics and government. (Boxes 40-51 are housed in the basement).

-Robert A. Bullington Collection

Reports, clippings, and memoranda about Cambodia, Zimbabwe, and other places.

-Stephen R. Lyne Collection

Photographs and slides featuring Ankor Wat, Ankor Thom and Phnom Phen, as well as various places around Bangkok Thailand, such as the floating market, the temple of Dawn and the Temple of the Emerald Buddha.

-Ethel Nurge Collection

The collection consists of field notes, research, and census data of Dr. Ethel Nurge.

 -King Norodom Sihanouk Special Collection

This Collection featrues phographs of His Late Majesty King Norodom Sihanouk as well as two DVD's from the Kings funeral and a book about the Late Kings works of service and international initiatives.  Materials for this collection have been donated by Ambassador Julio A. Jeldres, the Late King's personal secretary and official biographer, as well as Professor Kenton and Marlee Clymer.

-Daw May Kyi Win Letters

This collection features the letters of Daw May Kyi Win, who was the curator of the Donn V. Hart Southeast Asia Collection from 1990 to 2002.  In these letters she talks about a variety of topics from the issues facing Burma in the 1980's to everyday Burmese life to her own personal life.  The collection also features photographs and clippings from a Burmese newspaper.

-Marybeth Clark Collection

This collection focuses on Marybeth Clark's personal and professional life as an educator of Vietnamese.  Materials include personal and professional correspondances, photographs and slides, as well as handmade artwork.  A majority of the collection consists of language teaching materials and scholarly papers written by Marybeth Clark, and others, about numerous Southeast Asian Languages.

-Kenton Clymer Burma Papers

This collection consists of declassified state department correspondences to and from the Burmese government, which Professor Clymer used as research for his book, A Delicate Relationship:  The United States and Burma/Myanmar since 1945.  The documents provide a look into U.S Foreign policy and attitude towards Burma from the country's independence in 1948 to anti communism attitudes during the cold war to the emergence of an opposition in the 1980's, concluding with President Barack Obama's visits in 2012 and 2014.  (This collection is housed in the basement)

-George V. and Chrystal S. Smith Slide Collection

This is a collection of personal photographs from George V. and Chrystal S. Smith taken during their time in Southeast Asia. The collection features slides from Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, and Laos. The slides feature photographs of temples, markets, festivals, villages and daily life in Southeast Asia.

-Kenton Clymer Philippines Papers

This is a collection of materials used by Professor Kenton Clymer when writing his second book, Protestant Missionaries in the Philippines, 1898-1916:  An Inquiry into the American Colonial Mentality (Urbana:  University of Illinois Press, 1986). (This collection is housed in the basement).

-Kenton Clymer John Hay Papers

The collection consists of notes that professor Kenton Clymer used to write his first book:  John Hay: The Gentleman as Diplomat (Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 1975).  Hay was Abraham Lincoln's private secretary, then Ambassador to Great Britain (1897-98), and Secretary of State (1898-1905).  As Secretary of State, he presided over the annexation for the Philippines, and for a few months was in charge of US policy in the Philippines.  A few months after war broke out between the US and Filipino forces, the responsibility for Philippine affairs went to the War Department.  As Secretary of State, however, Hay was deeply involved with US-Asian policy generally. (This collection is housed in the basement).

-Kenton Clymer India Papers

Materials used by Professor Kenton Clymer to research his third book Quest for Freedom:  The United States and India's Independence (New York:  Columbia University Press, 1995).  (This collection is housed in the basement).

-George V. Smith Thai Poster Collection

The materials in this collection are Thai anti-communist propaganda posters and booklets.  These materials were collected by the Kalasin Boy's High School in Kalasin, Thailand from 1967 to 1969 and were almost certainly funded by the United States Information Service.

-David Steinberg Collection

This is a collection consisting mostly of papers and newspaper articles.  A majority of the materials are about Burma/Myanmar and Korea (North and South). There are also materials about other Southeast Asian countries like Thailand, Indonesia and Cambodia. (This collection is housed in the basement).

-Cao-Dai Collection

Materials in this collection cover aspects of the Cao-Dai religion. Caodaism is a monotheistic syncretic religion officially established in the city of Tay Ninh in Southern Vietnam in 1926.  This collection consists of pamphlets and books.  (This collection is housed in the basement).

-Philippine Sheet Music Collection

This is a collection of sheet music.  Some items featured include, Hating Gabi (At Midnight) Filipino Serenades for violin and Piano by Antonio J. Molina, Burlesque, A Piano Solo by Lucrecia R. Kasilag and Recuerdos de Capiz by J. Nakpil.

-Charles Frake and Ralph Lynch Articles

The collection features consists of two articles about the Philippine regions of Sindangan and Northern Mindanao.  (This collection is housed in the basement).

-Lucien M. Hanks Letters and Photos

The collection consists of letters sent to Dr. Lucien M. Hanks from friends and co-workers in the O.S.S Burma project and photos of India taken in 1945. (This collection is housed in the basement).

Northern Illinois University

Hao Phan's picture
Hao Phan
Contact:
Hao Phan

Southeast Asia Curator

University Libraries

Nothern Illinois University

DeKalb, IL 60115

U.S.A.

Phone: 815-753-1809

Fax: 815-753-9803
Website