General Information
- ASEAN Association of Southeast Asian Nations
information regarding all aspects of the organization, including several speeches and articles by different member countries. Includes a detailed list of links of other ASEAN sites.
- Committee on Research Materials on Southeast Asia (CORMOSEA)
A committee of the Southeast Asia Council (SEAC) of the Association for Asian Studies (AAS). It was established to enhance the collection of Southeast Asia research materials and to assist in making them available to Southeast Asia scholars, faculty, and students nationwide.
- Explorations
A student production of the Southeast Asian Studies Student Association in association with the Center for Southeast Asian Studies and with financial assistance provided by the Associated Students at the University of Hawaii. Articles and the Journal text available for download.
- IRASEC
Website containing general information, reference and articles regarding Thailand, Cambodia, Indonesia. French and English. Three articles in full text available. Other reference materials such as maps can be found on this site also.
Classic monographs digitized through the Luce digitization project at the University of Hawaii in Manoa
- UNICEF
Latest information on all Southeast Asian countries
- Asean Wildlife Enforcement Network
Provides on-line information regarding several aspects of Wildlife related to countries of ASEAN. It also includes links to other sites.
- Asia Society
Making full use of new information technologies, Asia Society's Resources, mostly accessible only online, help us extend the life of our programming and bring it before a global audience. Choose any of the thumbnails below to listen to recent Asia Society events, and browse the left-hand menu column for interviews, speeches, and podcasts, as well as the Museum Collection and resources for educators.
- Southeast Asia Research Centre
The focus of the Center's work is applied research in economic and political development, with particular attention to investment and trade in the China-Hong Kong-Southeast Asia triangle, labour practices, ethnicity and environment.
- Southeast Asia Resources
Site provided by the University of California Berkeley. Contains several links to newsletters and articles regarding Southeast Asia.
- Thailand, Laos, Cambodia Studies Association
The Thai/Lao/Cambodian Studies Group (TLC) is an affiliate of the Southeast Asian Council (SEAC) of the Association for Asian Studies (AAS). It aims to bring together scholars and students who work in many fields (History, Anthropology, Botany, Women's Studies, Religious Studies, Ethnomusicology, Linguistics, Archaeology, Architecture/Urban Planning, Development Studies, Philology, Political Science, Environmental Sciences, Philosophy, among others) who find themselves informed by data and experiences in Thailand, Cambodia, and/or Laos. Its website (tlc.ucr.edu) and its annual meeting (at the AAS meeting) is a place for these scholars and students to share resources and expertise.
Are the issues of civil society, “good governance”, and the role of NGOs in Vietnam part of a discursive discourse that is linked to a growing development industry in which development studies and economics dominate? Kleinen questions these issues based upon longitudinal research in Vietnam since the early 1990s. In this study, an effort is made to explain the concrete interactions between authorities of the Vietnamese one-party state and its citizens by introducing an attitude of participants to conceal their real intentions with the intent to disguise their actions in order to obtain benefits for their own. Using the concept of mimicry the author tries to grasp what it means to live in a society where political and economic life is dominated by elite groups and were social change is coming from different directions. Download this title for free.
New Mandala was established in June 2006 by Professor Andrew Walker and Dr Nicholas Farrelly. Hosted by the Australian National University’s (ANU) Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs, it provides anecdote, analysis and new perspectives on mainland Southeast Asia. Since its inception the site has devoted its attention to the politics and societies of this region, and especially Thailand and Myanmar. Increasingly its focus stretches to Malaysia, Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam. New Mandala‘s country editors are Thorn Pitidol (Thailand), Dr Greg Lopez (Malaysia and Singapore), Geoffrey Cain (Vietnam and Cambodia) and Dr Simon Creak (Laos).
Government and Politics
- ASEAN Secretariat
Official site of the 10 member organization includes economic and business information as well as historical documents.
- US-ASEAN Business Council
ASEAN business information, news, market research and updates on economic trends and doing business in the Association of Southeast Asian Nations
Site contains information regarding Eu-Asean relations. Site contains several PDF files of previous news related to this topic.
This is a searchable database that allows users to search for prisoner profiles by name, year of arrest, charges, length of sentence, gender, religion, ethnicity, areas of activism, and current status. You can use these criteria separately or in combination. On the home page, users can also conveniently see the number of prisoners who are currently in pre-trial detention or serving a sentence, as well as the numbers of female and ethnic minorities prisoners (who, unfortunately, are often overlooked). Many detailed profiles are already available for many prisoners. You could sort the list by "most recently updated" to get the latest updates. Updates on political prisoners and social movements in general, as well as related news, are also available via our weekly newsletters.
