Skip to Main Content

Military & Naval Science: Home

Military & Naval Science

   

Left: Bayeux Tapestry: det Normans prepare their fleet for the channel crossing. (11th C). https://jstor.org/stable/community.13882153. Right: Bayeux Tapestry: det.: Norman archers in action. (c.1077).  Musée de la Tapisserie de Bayeux. https://jstor.org/stable/community.13877671

This guide provides resources and information to support students and faculty in the Department of Military Science at NIU and researchers exploring topics associated with military and naval science.

Select Books

Women and the Military

Written by a professor of comparative politics at the United States Military Academy at West Point and an active duty army major, this book seeks to provide an understanding of women's roles in militaries around the world. The book is organized by region, exploring societal and cultural views of masculinity and war, as well as factors influencing changing views of women and the military, including conscription and economic and demographic trends.

New Approaches to Greek and Roman Warfare

Uses new methodologies, evidence, and topics to better understand ancient warfare and its place in culture and history  New Approaches to Greek and Roman Warfare brings together essays from specialists in ancient history who employ contemporary tools and approaches to reveal new evidence and increase knowledge of ancient militaries and warfare. In-depth yet highly readable, this volume covers the most recent trends for understanding warfare, militaries, soldiers, non-combatants, and their roles in ancient cultures. 

Voices from the Second World War

In an intergenerational keepsake volume, witnesses to World War II share their memories with young interviewers so that their experiences will never be forgotten. The Second World War was the most devastating war in history. Up to eighty million people died, and the map of the world was redrawn. More than seventy years after peace was declared, children interviewed family and community members to learn about the war from people who were there, to record their memories before they were lost forever. Now, in a unique collection, RAF pilots, evacuees, resistance fighters, Land Girls, U.S. Navy sailors, and survivors of the Holocaust and the Hiroshima bombing all tell their stories, passing on the lessons learned to a new generation. Featuring many vintage photographs, this moving volume also offers an index of contributors and a glossary.

Framing the Future of the US Military Profession

Building upon The Future of the Army Profession research project of the 2000s, this monograph examines contemporary challenges facing the defense enterprise, not just one service. These include the changing character of war, the return of great power strategic competition, internal crises such as sexual harassment and assault, effects of a global pandemic, and a growing societal distrust of professions. The authors propose a new research effort into military professionalism at the service, joint, and defense levels. This book is part of the After Huntington: New Perspectives on the US Military Profession Monograph Series.

The Cambridge Illustrated History of Warfare

The new edition of The Cambridge Illustrated History of Warfare, written and updated by a team of nine distinguished military historians, examines how war was waged by Western powers across a sweeping timeframe, beginning with classical Greece and Rome, moving through the Middle Ages and the early modern period, down to the wars of the twenty-first century in Afghanistan, Iraq, and Syria. The book stresses five essential aspects of the Western way of war: a combination of technology, discipline, and an aggressive military tradition with an extraordinary capacity to respond rapidly to challenges and to use capital rather than manpower to win. Although the focus remains on the West, and on the role of violence in its rise, each chapter also examines the military effectiveness of its adversaries and the regions in which the West's military edge has been - and continues to be - challenged.

War at the Speed of Light

War at the Speed of Light describes the revolutionary and ever-increasing role of directed-energy weapons (such as laser, microwave, electromagnetic pulse, and cyberspace weapons) in warfare. Del Monte analyzes how modern warfare is changing in three fundamental ways: the pace of war is quickening, the rate at which weapons project devastation is reaching the speed of light, and cyberspace is now officially a battlefield. In this acceleration of combat called "hyperwar," Del Monte shows how disturbingly close the world is to losing any deterrence to nuclear warfare.  

Other People's Wars

Case studies explore how to improve military adaptation and preparedness in peacetime by investigating foreign wars Preparing for the next war at an unknown date against an undetermined opponent is a difficult undertaking with extremely high stakes. Other People's Wars explores major US efforts involving direct observation missions and post-conflict investigations at key junctures for the US armed forces: the Crimean War (1854?56), Russo-Japanese War (1904?5), Spanish Civil War (1936?39), and Yom Kippur War (1973), which preceded the US Civil War, First and Second World Wars, and major army and air force reforms of the 1970s, respectively. The case studies identify learning pitfalls but also show that initiatives to learn from other nations' wars can yield significant benefits if the right conditions are met. Sterling puts forth a process that emphasizes comprehensive qualitative learning to foster better military preparedness and adaptability.

War and Individual Rights

Kai Draper begins his book with the assumption that individual rights exist and stand as moral obstacles to the pursuit of national no less than personal interests. That assumption might seem to demand a pacifist rejection of war, for any sustained war effort requires military operations that predictably kill many noncombatants as "collateral damage," and presumably at least most noncombatants have a right not to be killed. Yet Draper ends with the conclusion that sometimes recourse to war is justified.

Twice Forgotten

Journalists began to call the Korean War "the Forgotten War" even before it ended. Without a doubt, the most neglected story of this already neglected war is that of African Americans who served just two years after Harry S. Truman ordered the desegregation of the military. Twice Forgotten draws on oral histories of Black Korean War veterans to recover the story of their contributions to the fight, the reality that the military&8239;desegregated in fits and starts, and how veterans' service fits into the long history of the Black freedom struggle.     This collection of seventy oral histories, drawn from across the country, features interviews conducted by the author and his colleagues for their American Radio Works documentary, Korea: The Unfinished War, which examines the conflict as experienced by the approximately 600,000 Black men and women who served. It also includes narratives from other sources, including the Library of Congress's visionary Veterans History Project. In their own voices, soldiers and sailors and flyers tell the story of what it meant, how it felt, and what it cost them to fight for the freedom abroad that was too often denied them at home.

Tracing the Atom

Bringing together a range of disciplines - history, science and technology studies, social anthropology, literary studies, and art history - this volume offers insights that broaden our understanding of twentieth-century atomic programs and their long aftermaths.

Mutiny and Leadership

Using contemporary leadership theory to cast a critical light on an array of mutinies throughout history, this book suggests we consider mutiny as a permanent possibility that is further encouraged or discouraged in some contexts. The critical theoretical line also puts into sharp relief the assumption that oftentimes people have little choice in how they respond to circumstances not of their own making. If mutineers could choose to resist what they saw as tyranny, then so can we.

Biotechnology and International Security

Biotechnology and International Security contextualizes the militarization of biotechnology by examining its strategic uses, the nature of bioweapons, and the overall impact on warfare and security. The book looks at the many emerging military applications of biotechnology and provides a nontechnical assessment of how a wide range of technologies are influencing war fighting, international balance of power, and homeland security. It offers a thorough introduction to bioweapons and biosecurity challenges, along with the resulting ethical and policy dilemmas.

The Routledge Handbook of American Military and Diplomatic History

The Routledge Handbook of American Military and Diplomatic History provides a comprehensive analysis of the major events, conflicts, and personalities that have defined and shaped the military history of the United States. This volume, The Colonial Period to 1877, illuminates the early period of American history, from the colonial warfare of the 17th century through the tribulations of Reconstruction. Topics covered include colonial encounters and warfare, the French and Indian War, the American Revolution, diplomacy in the early American republic, the War of 1812, westward expansion and conquest, the Mexican-American War, the Civil War, and Reconstruction. With authoritative and vividly written chapters by both leading scholars and new talent, this state-of-the-field handbook will be a go-to reference for every American history scholar's bookshelf.

Searching for Military or Naval Science Resources in HuskieSearch

 

You can do a Subject Search to locate books on Military or Naval Science from Northern Illinois University Libraries or from other I-Share libraries:

You can also browse the shelves in these call number areas (Founder Memorial Library, 4th floor) to find books devoted to Military or Naval Science:

U = Military Art and Science
V = Naval Art and Science

You may also find relevant material in call numbers associated with History:

D = World History

E & F = History of the Americas

(Example: E181 = United States Military history; DG242-249.4 = First and Second Punic Wars. Illyrian wars. 264-201)

The U.S. Army Chief of Staff's Professional Reading List

Decorative

Army Chief of Staff's Professional Reading List

The List is divided into categories: Strategic Environment, Regional Studies, History and Military History, Leadership, Army Profession, and Fiction. 

Websites

Selected Reference Works