Military & Naval Science: Articles and Databases

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles.

CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI/ Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. The serials list of the new database is actively under construction, with a focus on expanding international coverage. As of October 2001, approximately 1010 titles are being monitored for coverage; this list is expected to reach 1250 titles by 2002. Coverage 1975-present.

JSTOR Security Studies is an evolving collection of multi-content resources focusing on violence and conflict in international relations. The scope of the collection encompasses cyber security, foreign policy, human security, intelligence & espionage, international law, military studies, peace & conflict studies, and political violence & terrorism.

The database--comprehending more than twelve million pages of text--offers an unparalleled view of the activities of the United States federal government from the founding of the Republic through most of the twentieth century. The Serial Set is invaluable for research in political history, social history, cultural history, military history, ethnic history, international relations, explorations, commerce, industrial development and much more. Formerly, much of the material embodied in the Serial Set was difficult to locate, and the majority was available only on microform. The Serial Set includes scores of publications along with thousands of maps, illustrations and statistical tables. Materials prior to the 1838 are included in the American State Papers, 1789-1838.

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Indexes literature on world history (excluding U.S. and Canada) and the profession of history in 2,100 journals. Coverage is 1982 to the present. Abstracts Only.

Provides citations to articles from over 2,100 journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. Coverage is 1982 to the present and is updated three times per year. Abstracts Only.

The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together more than 400 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home. The writings of politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies are included. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving not only both the Northern and Southern perspectives, but those of foreign observers also. The materials originate from all regions of the country and are from people who played a variety of roles. The collection includes approximately 100,000 pages of published memoirs, letters and diaries from individuals plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. Drawn from more than 400 sources, the collection provides in-depth coverage of all aspects of the war. More than 1,000 biographies will enhance the use of the database.

Now published by Coherent Digital, Accessible Archives may go by a new name, but it still offers its unique, exclusive, primary-source content previously only available in a variety of physical formats. Along with a new publisher comes a next-generation platform, History Commons, which offers mobile-responsive on all browsers, enhanced viewing and examination functionalities, and manually rekeyed OCR so keyword searching, text and data mining are easier than ever.

Rand Corporation-- is a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decision making through research and analysis.
RAND focuses on the issues that matter most such as health, education, national security, international affairs, law and business, the environment, and more. With a research staff consisting of some of the world's preeminent minds, RAND has been expanding the boundaries of human knowledge for more than 60 years.
As a nonpartisan organization, RAND is widely respected for operating independent of political and commercial pressures. Much of the content throughout the database is freely available as full-text.