Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search 100's of encyclopedias & dictionaries at once using our Reference Databases
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Search Oxford Reference for topics in Modern Languages, Literature, History, Classics, STEM fields, Business, Philosophy, Geography, Environmental Studies, Fine Arts, and the Humanities.
Sage eReference This link opens in a new window
Search SAGE for topics in Education, Psychology, Sociology, Geography, Law, Business, Media Studies and Political Science.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Offering information in a quick and easy format, and providing quality, scholarly resources, the Gale Virtual Reference Library is a valuable resource for any library collection and for users of all types.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Reference Universe--contains 35 million data elements to over 45,000 specialized reference works. The elements are matched to NIU's electronic and print holdings, offering a customized view of local reference materials.
Finding Reference Sources in HuskieSearch
Filter your results in HuskieSearch by Genre to find reference sources. Reference sources may appear as dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, manuals, biographies, etc.
Sources by Type
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
For more than a century, the undisputed authority on the English language. Includes 300,000 entries and 59 million words. Full Text.
Dictionary of American Regional English This link opens in a new window
Dictionary of American Regional English focuses on the regional aspects of American English, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another.
Online Etymology Dictionary
Etymologies are not definitions; they're explanations of what our words meant and how they sounded 600 or 2,000 years ago.
Contains biographical information on over 25,000 individuals from the past and present. Biography.com strives to provide users with the most up-to-date and accurate biographical information but is considered semi-authoritative because of its affiliation with for-profit television networks and channels.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Includes over 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2005.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
The database features comprehensive literary biographies of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriter, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works.
GPO Monthly Catalog (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Covers over 380,000 documents published by the U.S. government and its agencies. Virtually limitless subject in which there is federal government involvement. Coverage is 1976 to the present. GPO Monthly Catalog is on FirstSearch. Abstracts Only.