Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering and Technology: Core Databases

Core Article Databases

Compendex and EI Village

A comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature covering 5000 engineering journals and professional conferences in applied science. Coverage begins in 1970 and is updated weekly. Subject areas treated include chemical and process engineering, applied physics, computers, data processing, electronics and communication.

Scopus

Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. Scopus quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools. Be confident in progressing research, teaching or research direction and priorities — all from one database and with one subscription.

 

IEEE Xplore   

The database features full text access from 1998 on to a substantial portion of the society journals published in conjunction with IEEE and IEE. It also offers indexing and abstracting access to a variety of other publication including journals, proceedings, standards and books. A recent addition to NIU offerings is the IEEE - Wiley eBooks Library which includes a slate of more than 400 titles and extends up to 2010 publication date.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Digital Journals

Founded in 1880 as the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, ASME is the premier professional membership organization for more than 127,000 mechanical engineers and associated members worldwide. ASME also conducts one of the world's largest technical

GreenFILE

The database offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records.

International Abstracts in Operations Research   

IAOR Online is a comprehensive, unique and continually growing reference database. It builds on the rich heritage of its counterpart print product, International Abstracts in Operations Research.

SciFinder Scholar   

A bibliographic database containing citations from Chemical Abstracts (1907 to present) and MEDLINE (1958 to present). Journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, and technical reports are among the types of records provided. The Registry database (1947 to present) provides access to descriptions of specific chemical substances, structure diagrams, names, molecular formulas, and more. The new web based version of SciFinder requires registration at a separate web site. The registration site is located at: https://origin-scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html . A couple of things to keep in mind concerning registration is that the proprietors of the database require an email address that contains the "niu.edu" domain. Any other type of email address will be rejected. The conditions for setting a password are also quite stringent. The password must be between 7 and 15 characters. Moreover, the password must have both upper and lower case letters, must contain a numeral, and also must contain an non-alphanumeric character such as *, %, &, etc

SpringerLink  

NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Springer journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and a column on the right side of the homepage offers a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,946 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.

 

Academic Search Complete   

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Wiley Online Library   

NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Wiley journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and the top of the homepage features a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,785 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.

SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics) e-books

For more than 50 years, SIAM books have been a leading source of knowledge for the world' applied mathematics and computational science communities. SIAM' line-up of stellar, prize-winning authors and titles that address both timely and fundamental topics have made SIAM books indispensable to researchers, faculty, and students around the world. Now, for the first time, the SIAM library of over 200 books is available for institutions to offer to their users electronically.

Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library (ACM DL)

Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library (ACM DL). The database comprehends the publications (except books) of the ACM. The latter touts itself as the worlds leading educational and scientific computing society.