Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering and Technology: Article Databases

Core Databases

Compendex and EI Village

A comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature covering 5000 engineering journals and professional conferences in applied science. Coverage begins in 1970 and is updated weekly. Subject areas treated include chemical and process engineering, applied physics, computers, data processing, electronics and communication.

INSPEC

Inspec is the world's leading bibliographic database providing comprehensive global coverage of scientific and technical literature in the fields of physics, electrical engineering, electronics and computer science. Inspec contains over 8 million records dating from 1969 and draws upon 3,000 scientific and technical journals and 2,000 conference proceedings for coverage.

IEEE Xplore   

The database features full text access from 1998 on to a substantial portion of the society journals published in conjunction with IEEE and IEE. It also offers indexing and abstracting access to a variety of other publication including journals, proceedings, standards and books. A recent addition to NIU offerings is the IEEE - Wiley eBooks Library which includes a slate of more than 400 titles and extends up to 2010 publication date.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Digital Journals

Founded in 1880 as the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, ASME is the premier professional membership organization for more than 127,000 mechanical engineers and associated members worldwide. ASME also conducts one of the world's largest technical

GreenFILE

The database offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records.

International Abstracts in Operations Research   

IAOR Online is a comprehensive, unique and continually growing reference database. It builds on the rich heritage of its counterpart print product, International Abstracts in Operations Research.

SciFinder Scholar   

A bibliographic database containing citations from Chemical Abstracts (1907 to present) and MEDLINE (1958 to present). Journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, and technical reports are among the types of records provided. The Registry database (1947 to present) provides access to descriptions of specific chemical substances, structure diagrams, names, molecular formulas, and more. The new web based version of SciFinder requires registration at a separate web site. The registration site is located at: https://origin-scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html . A couple of things to keep in mind concerning registration is that the proprietors of the database require an email address that contains the "niu.edu" domain. Any other type of email address will be rejected. The conditions for setting a password are also quite stringent. The password must be between 7 and 15 characters. Moreover, the password must have both upper and lower case letters, must contain a numeral, and also must contain an non-alphanumeric character such as *, %, &, etc

SpringerLink  

NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Springer journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and a column on the right side of the homepage offers a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,946 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.

Web of Science

The database allows access to both the Science and Social Sciences Citation Indexes. One can locate not only specific articles, but more important explore how specific articles have been treated by the literature in their respective fields. The backfile extends to 1965.

Academic Search Complete   

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Wiley Online Library   

NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Wiley journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and the top of the homepage features a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,785 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.

SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics) e-books

For more than 50 years, SIAM books have been a leading source of knowledge for the world' applied mathematics and computational science communities. SIAM' line-up of stellar, prize-winning authors and titles that address both timely and fundamental topics have made SIAM books indispensable to researchers, faculty, and students around the world. Now, for the first time, the SIAM library of over 200 books is available for institutions to offer to their users electronically.

Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library (ACM DL)

Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library (ACM DL). The database comprehends the publications (except books) of the ACM. The latter touts itself as the worlds leading educational and scientific computing society.

Related Databases

Journal Citation Reports

Journal Citation Reports: Science and Social Sciences Editions--the former edition contains data from over 5,900 journals in science and technology. The latter includes data from over 1,700 journals in the social sciences. The database can be searched at the individual title level or by subject category, publisher and country/territory.

Google Scholar

Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify relevant material across the world of scholarly research.

Web of Knowledge

Combines the acclaimed Science and Social Sciences Citation Indexes (1987 to the present) with additional databases including BIOSIS Previews (1969 to the present), Current Contents (1998 to the present), and Medline (1950 to the present). The database offers a powerful and versatile research platform as well as search and analysis tools that enhance its scholarly value.

Scientific Electronic Library Online

SciELO is a model for cooperative electronic publishing of scientific journals on the Internet. Especially conceived to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean countries, it provides an efficient way to assure universal visibility and accessibility to their scientific literature, contributing to overcome the phenomena known as "lost science". In addition, the SciELO model comprises integrated procedures for the measurement of usage and impact of scientific journals.

Ingenta

An extremely diverse collection of more than 27,000 journal titles. The database contains both full-text and abstracts.

MathSci Net

The major indexing and abstracting service for mathematical sciences and its applications. It covers the literature of mathematics since 1940. Abstracts Only.

GeoRef

Established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, this database provides access to the geosciences literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 60,000 references a year. The database contains over 1.8 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Coverage dates from 1795 for North America and 1933 for outside North America. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered. Abstracts Only.

Current Contents (Institute for Scientific Information)

Furnishes access to the bibliographic information on articles in journals and magazines and the table of contents of journals in the following fields: Biology, Chemistry, Geography, Geology and Physics. Coverage is 1998 to the present.

Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Online (96th edition)

Proudly serving the scientific community for over a century this electronic work is an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science. In addition, the online format places physical property data and mathematical formulas used in labs and classrooms within easy reach.

General Databases

Chronicle of Higher Education

The Chronicle provides well-researched and thoughtful analysis of current issues in higher education.

Chicago Manual of Style Online, 15th & 16th editions

This new edition of the venerable guide to the preparation of manuscripts, articles, and papers has been thoroughly overhauled and updated to reflect the new realities of digital texts and electronic publishing.

Newspaper Source

Provides full text for 159 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor (for a total of 194 full text newspapers and other sources). Newspaper Source is part of the Ebsco family of databases.

ArticleFirst

An index of articles from nearly 12,500 journals addressing all academic areas. Coverage is 1990 to the present. ArticleFirst is in First Search. Some Full Text.

LexisNexis Academic {Lexis}

Contains many of the legal resources found in Lexis Advance. The legal database allows searches of full-text federal, state, and international legal materials, including cases. Also offers a news database which covers the full-text of today's news or allow searches back more than 20 years. The business database offers full-text company news and financial information. The medical database offers full-text and abstracted medical and health information, and the reference database allows searching of general reference sources.

Subject Guide