Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
West Coast Poverty Center-Created in October 2005 at the University of Washington as one of three national centers monitoring poverty on a regional scale, the Center offers analysis of poverty in the west coast region using the factors of labor markets, demographics, family and inequality.
Dictionaries of the Social Sciences
General Web Resources
- AgeSourceWorldwide/AgeStats Worldwide - Created by the American Association of Retired Persons, these free access databases offer two distinctive bodies of information. Age Source contains resources from 25 countries relevant to age-related issues , ranging in type from government reports to libraries. Age Stats profiles global data on the situation of the elderly by topics ( such as health and wellness, livabl;e communities and long term care ) or by geographic region, with projections available up to 2050.
- American Bar Association Commission on Domestic Violence - Created in 1994, the Commission has taken as its mission working to increase access to justice for victims of stalking, domestic violence and sexual assault.
- Anarchism Pamphlets in the Labadie Collection
- Carsey Institute: Socio-Economic Indicators (University of New Hampshire) - Established in 2002, the Institute focuses its research on vulnerable children, families , and youth and on sustainable community development.
- Center for Spatially Integrated Social Science
- Child Welfare Information Gateway
- Children's Rights: International and National Laws and Practices - A report prepared by the Law Library of Congress covering children's righsts as they existed in the legal systems of sixteen nations in both hemispheres ( last updated in August 2010 ) with each national report iavailable in full text form.
- Confronting Confinement - The text of a report released in 2006 by the Commission on Safety and Abuse in America's Prisons.
- Criminology and Criminal Justice Links (Flordia State University)
- Global Distribution of Poverty - The home site of the Poverty Mapping Project at CIESIN (The Center for International Earth Science Information Network) at the Earth Institute at Columbia University, foudned in 2004 Sections profile the subnational poverty data sets so far developed, poverty maps at a variety of scales ( (global, regional, national, and urban areas) and for infant mortality and child hunger, and offer a discussion of the methods used to produce the datasets and interdisciplinary applications made by other social sciences of this data.
- Institute for Anarchist Studies
- Labadie Collection (University of Michigan) - This special library is the oldest collection of materials documenting a wide variety of social protest movements from the ninteenth and twentieth centuries. Materials held range from political buttons to original manuscripts and audio recordings.
- Mapping the Growth of Older America: Seniors and Boomers in the Early 21st Century - The full text of a report issued in May 2007 by the Brookings Institution.
- National Annenberg Survey of Youth
- Online Encyclopedia of Mass Violence
- Program on the Global Demography of Aging - Based at Harvard, this ongoing research effort focuses on four areas ( with particular attention to the developing world ) -the global patterns of mortality, disease and morbidity in aging populations, social factors affecting aging and population health, the economics of Medicare, and teh economic copnseqeunces of aging worldwide.
- The Cities Alliance
- The European Values Study
- Windows on Urban Poverty
- WWW Virtual Library: Demography and Population Studies
- ACORN: Association of Community Organization for Reform Now - In 2010, forty years of activism casme to an end when ACORN filed for bankruptcy. This site still contains their mission statement and the full texts of four annual reports.
- Alcohol Studies Database - This resource contains more than 60,000 citations to journal articles, books, and book chapters) conference papers, dissertations, and audio-visual materials collected at Center of Alcohol Studies at Rutgers University since 1987.
- Center for Immigration Studies - Since 1985, this Washington- based group has focused attention on gathering accurate data on both legal and illegal immigration to the United States and providing it to both policymakers and the general public.
- Center for Rural Studies - Founded in 1978 at the University of Vermont, this agency serves both as a center for state census data and offers an online backfile of its publications on Vermont's communities to 1995.
- Center for the Study of Group Processes - A multidisciplinary research center founded at the University of Iowa in 1892 to provide support for group processes study. "Group", as defined here, covers formal organizations, political groups, families, intimates, social categories and societies.
- Center on Urban Poverty and Social Change - [PDF]
- Centre for Analysis of Social Exclusion
- CESSDA: Council of European Social Science Data Archives
- Chronic Poverty Research Centre
- Crime Victims' Institute
- European Centre for Minority Issues
- European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (FRA)
- Institute for Families in Society
- Institute for Policy Research
- Institute for Research on Poverty -Based at the University of Wisconsin-Madison since 1966, the Institute is one of three such bodies that monitor social inequality nationally within the United States,. Special emphasis placed on family welfare in the Midwest.
- Institute for Social and Economic Research and Policy
- Institute for Social Research
- Institute of Race Relations
- International Institute of Social History
- International Society for the Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect
- International Victimology Web site - Launched in June 1999 "as a resource for all those interested in improving justice for victims of crime and abuse of power." Two databases on current victimology research and promising prevention practices, and a section of full-text documents from the United Nations, the European Union and 30 individual countries' policies.
- Max-Planck-Institut für Gesellschaftsforschung/ Max-Planck-Institute for the Study of Societies
- National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
- National Center for Children in Poverty - Based at Columbia University's School of Public Health since 1989, the Center offers demographic information on levels of poverty by state, data tools for calculating aspects of poverty , profiles of current projects and areas of concern, and the most recent annual report.
- National Center on Institutions and Alternatives - Areas of interest on this site are criminal justice services, youth arrests, the developmentally disabled, clerical evaluation and therapy, sentencing and death penalty mitigation.
- National Centre for Social Research - Founded in 1969, the Centre is Britain's c
- National Criminal Justice Research Service -Operating as part of the U.S. Justice Department, the Service offers a massive body of data on all types of crime and issues within the criminal justice system.
- National Institute of Corrections Library - the emphasis of this online full-text collection is in unpublished materials generated by correctional agencies that focus on internal operations, supplemented by publications of the National Institute of Corrections.
- National Institute of Justice's MAPS Program - this site profiles three geospatial tools developed by the NIJ applicable to crime statistics generated by law enforcement and corrections agencies.
- National Institute on Drug Abuse
- Pierre Bourdieu
- Policy Archive
- RAND Europe
- Social Watch
- Survey Research Center - Based at Princeton University, this sites offers "nearly everything useful on the web for the practice of survey research." Researchers should begin with the section on "Poll and Survey Findings and Data".
- The Hauser Center for Nonprofit Organizations
- The Migration Information Source - A monthly publication which has been appearing since the spring of 2002
- University of Alaska Anchorage Institute of Social and Economic Research - Alaska's oldest public policy research center.
- West Coast Poverty Center -Created in October 2005 at the University of Washington as one of three national centers monitoring poverty on a regional scale, the Center offers analysis of poverty in the west coast region using the factors of labor markets, demographics, family and inequality.
- American Sociological Association - Founded in 1905, this is the chief professional organization for sociologists of all subdisciplines within the United States. Its emphasis is on providing the application of sociological analysis for the benefit of society. Useful features include the "code of ethics" and a list of publicly available data sets.
- Association of Black Sociologists
- Criminal Justice Journalists - Founded in 1997 with the goal of improving the accuracy and quality of reporting on law enforcement and the judicial system.
- Family Violence Prevention Fund
- International Network for Social Network Analysis - This site provides a listing of journals in this field and links to software programs used in social network analysis.
- International Sociological Association - Founded in 1949 under the auspices of UNESCO, this organization seeks to provide international communication and cooperation in sociological research. Its research committees cover 53 areas in sociology. A list of relevant periodicals is also featured, some with access to back issues.
- Justice Research and Statistics Association
- Mid-South Sociological Association - Useful for the variety of links to specific subfields provided, links to back issues of Sociological Spectrum.
- North Central Sociological Association - Covering seven states and the province of Ontario, this is the premier professional group for the sociologists of the Midwest. A listserver here serves as a regional discussion forum.
- Pacific Sociological Association - Established in 1929, this organization provides a professional forum for sociologists in the western United States, Alberta and British Columbia. An index to current and back issues of The Pacific Sociologist is provided.
- Society for Applied Sociology - An international organization founded in 1978 for social scientists involved in applying sociological knowledge in a variety of environments. An electronic newsletter is available.
- Society for the Study of Social Problems
- Society for the Study of Symbolic Interaction - Focused on qualitative, especially interactionist research, a useful feature of this site for graduate students is the section "Teaching Symbolic Interaction."
- Sociological Association of Aotearoa, (New Zealand) - Most useful as a source for following professional discussions and research in the region of the Pacific.
- Sociologists for Women in Society
- Southern Sociological Society
- Western Criminology Review
- European Commission: Public Opinion
- Hunger in America 2006
- Improving the Lives of the Urban Poor
- Making of America - The Making of America begins a digital library, created by the University of Michigan in cooperation with Cornell University and supported by the Mellon Foundation. The University of Michigan scanned 1,600 books and ten journals from their own library. This site is easy to navigate and has advanced features such as three search modes (Boolean, proximate words, and a regular index structured by author, title, and subject).
- Migration Information Source - Migration data from around the world. Generate tables, create graphs, follow trends. Find out who is going where and how migration is shaping social, political, demographic, and economic futures country by country.
- Pew Global Attitudes Project
- Pew Internet and American Life Project
- PovertyNet - A World Bank web site developed to provide resources for people and organizations working to understand and alleviate poverty. Cultural factors generating and maintaining poverty, analysis of its social impact and strategies for its limitation and reduction are profiled.
- Research Resources for the Social Sciences - The site is well organized into 18 different categories, including general resources, reference materials, data archives, and news resources. Each category provides links to web sites including e-journals, listservs, and full-text resources. Another useful category, "Aggressive Pattern Searches," provides links to information about searching the web, effective search strategies, and guides to using Internet search engines.
- Social Psychology Network - This site's main menu provides links in three broad categories: social psychology, general psychology, and Wesleyan University (the home of the site). Under social psychology, one will find links to a wide variety of topics such as prejudice and discrimination, social influence, and interpersonal relationships. General psychology links include sites offering useful information about psychology as a career, various professional organizations, rankings of graduate programs in psychology, Internet research tools, and sources of funding for research.
- SocioSite - Social Science Information System based at the University of Amsterdam
- Socnet - "World index of sociology courses wholly or in part on the Internet"
- Southern Poverty Law Center - The Southern Poverty Law Center was founded a quarter of a century ago for the purpose of winning equal rights for minorities and poor people through legal action. Today the Center continues to pursue action against those who would attack the freedoms of others, while also promoting tolerance, understanding, and justice through education and publicity. This site is well organized and leads the user to a wealth of material related to civil rights and civil liberties.
- SSRN: Social Science Research Network
- State of World Population 2008
- The ARDA: Association of Religion Data Archives
- The Mead Project: Foundational Documents in Sociological Social Psychology
- The Rise of New Immigrant Gateways - [pdf]
- The SocioWeb: A Sociological Resource Center - A guide to twelve types of data, including surveys and statistics, electronic journals in sociology, professional associations, and "topical research."
- UC Atlas of Global Inequality
Subjects: African American Studies
, Latino and Latin American Studies
, LGBT Studies
, Soil Science