Sociology: Article Databases

Provides citations to articles from over 2,100 journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. Coverage is 1982 to the present and is updated three times per year. Abstracts Only.

CQ Researcher--provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. The backfile for the database extends to 1923.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations-- Provides bibliographic citations, and full-text access for doctoral dissertations and master's thesis completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide.

Over 4 million indexes, journal articles, chapters in books and entire books on psychology and related fields compiled by the American Psychological Association. Coverage: 1887-present. PsychInfo is on OVID. Some Full Text.

Reference Universe--contains 35 million data elements to over 45,000 specialized reference works. The elements are matched to NIU's electronic and print holdings, offering a customized view of local reference materials.

Includes indexes and abstracts for articles in sociology and related disciplines in 20,000 journals in 30 different languages. Doctoral dissertations and book reviews are also included. Includes some full text. Coverage is 1963 to the present.