Sociology: Home

Created in 1994, the Commission has taken as its mission working to increase access to justice for victims of stalking, domestic violence and sexual assault.

Established in 2002, the Institute focuses its research on vulnerable children, families , and youth and on sustainable community development.

- The text of a report released in 2006 by the Commission on Safety and Abuse in America's Prison

This special library is the oldest collection of materials documenting a wide variety of social protest movements from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Materials held range from political buttons to original manuscripts and audio recordings.
Mapping the Growth of Older America: Seniors and Boomers in the Early 21st Century - The full text of a report issued in May 2007 by the Brookings Institution.

In 2010, forty years of activism came to an end when ACORN filed for bankruptcy. This site still contains their mission statement and the full texts of four annual reports

This resource contains more than 60,000 citations to journal articles, books, and book chapters) conference papers, dissertations, and audio-visual materials collected at Center of Alcohol Studies at Rutgers University since 1987.

Since 1985, this Washington- based group has focused attention on gathering accurate data on both legal and illegal immigration to the United States and providing it to both policymakers and the general public.

Founded in 1978 at the University of Vermont, this agency serves both as a center for state census data and offers an online backfile of its publications on Vermont's communities to 1995.

A multidisciplinary research center founded at the University of Iowa in 1892 to provide support for group processes study. "Group", as defined here, covers formal organizations, political groups, families, intimates, social categories and societies.

Based at the University of Wisconsin-Madison since 1966, the Institute is one of three such bodies that monitor social inequality nationally within the United States,. Special emphasis placed on family welfare in the Midwest.

Based at Columbia University's School of Public Health since 1989, the Center offers demographic information on levels of poverty by state, data tools for calculating aspects of poverty , profiles of current projects and areas of concern, and the most recent annual report.

Areas of interest on this site are criminal justice services, youth arrests, the developmentally disabled, clerical evaluation and therapy, sentencing and death penalty mitigation.

The largest independent and not-for-profit social research organization in the UK, founded in 1969

Operating as part of the U.S. Justice Department, the Service offers a massive body of data on all types of crime and issues within the criminal justice system.

the emphasis of this online full-text collection is in unpublished materials generated by correctional agencies that focus on internal operations, supplemented by publications of the National Institute of Corrections.

Based at the University of Michigan, this sites offers "nearly everything useful on the web for the practice of survey research." Researchers should begin with the section on "Poll and Survey Findings and Data".

-Created in October 2005 at the University of Washington as one of three national centers monitoring poverty on a regional scale, the Center offers analysis of poverty in the west coast region using the factors of labor markets, demographics, family and inequality.

Founded in 1905, this is the chief professional organization for sociologists of all subdisciplines within the United States. Its emphasis is on providing the application of sociological analysis for the benefit of society. Useful features include the "code of ethics" and a list of publicly available data sets.

Founded in 1997 with the goal of improving the accuracy and quality of reporting on law enforcement and the judicial system.

This site provides a listing of journals in this field and links to software programs used in social network analysis.

Founded in 1949 under the auspices of UNESCO, this organization seeks to provide international communication and cooperation in sociological research. Its research committees cover 53 areas in sociology. A list of relevant periodicals is also featured, some with access to back issues.

- Useful for the variety of links to specific subfields provided, links to back issues of Sociological Spectrum.

Covering seven states and the province of Ontario, this is the premier professional group for the sociologists of the Midwest. A listserver here serves as a regional discussion forum.

Established in 1929, this organization provides a professional forum for sociologists in the western United States, Alberta and British Columbia. An index to current and back issues of The Pacific Sociologist is provided.

An international organization founded in 1978 for social scientists involved in applying sociological knowledge in a variety of environments. An electronic newsletter is available

Focused on qualitative, especially interactionist research, a useful feature of this site for graduate students is the section "Teaching Symbolic Interaction."

Most useful as a source for following professional discussions and research in the region of the Pacific.

A searchable gateway to statistics gathered by over 100 U.S. Federal agencies. Data can be obtained in graphic form through MAPSTATS, by jurisdictions from the international to the local level, by source agency, or from a list of topics for which data have been recorded.

The Making of America begins a digital library, created by the University of Michigan in cooperation with Cornell University and supported by the Mellon Foundation. The University of Michigan scanned 1,600 books and ten journals from their own library. This site is easy to navigate and has advanced features such as three search modes (Boolean, proximate words, and a regular index structured by author, title, and subject).

Migration data from around the world. Generate tables, create graphs, follow trends. Find out who is going where and how migration is shaping social, political, demographic, and economic futures country by country.

This site's main menu provides links in three broad categories: social psychology, general psychology, and Wesleyan University (the home of the site). Under social psychology, one will find links to a wide variety of topics such as prejudice and discrimination, social influence, and interpersonal relationships. General psychology links include sites offering useful information about psychology as a career, various professional organizations, rankings of graduate programs in psychology, Internet research tools, and sources of funding for research.

A social science information system based at the University of Amsterdam.

The Southern Poverty Law Center was founded a quarter of a century ago for the purpose of winning equal rights for minorities and poor people through legal action. Today the Center continues to pursue action against those who would attack the freedoms of others, while also promoting tolerance, understanding, and justice through education and publicity. This site is well organized and leads the user to a wealth of material related to civil rights and civil liberties.

A guide to twelve types of data, including surveys and statistics, electronic journals in sociology, professional associations, and "topical research."

Search for articles, books, course reserves and other materials available online or in print from NIU Libraries.

Request articles and books that aren't available at the University Libraries