Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library subscribes to a variety of streaming services. Playlists can be created for your courses. Sarah is happy to create them for you, or she can give you the instructions to do it yourself. Email her at email@example.com.
List of streaming services
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window Is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues of over 170,000 tracks, including Classical music, Historical recordings, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Whilst listening, users can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos’s extensive database.
Jazz Music Library This link opens in a new window Is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window Is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. This ever growing collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window Delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
Music Online Streaming Sound Sample
The Alexander Street Music Online services that are sound (not video) allow you to create playlists across the different services. This includes Classical Music Library, Jazz Music Library, and Contemporary World Music. You can even add articles from the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, and external links. These playlists can be embedded, or shared.