This page lists the top recommended databases for History. A database is a searchable collection of articles, books, and other resources you usually can’t find on Google.
Indexes literature on world history (excluding U.S. and Canada) and the profession of history in 2,100 journals. Coverage is 1982 to the present. Abstracts Only.
Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century, this database contains full-text journals, magazines, reference books and thousands of primary source documents.
A popular database with more than 3.7 million primary sources, Eight Centuries can help you find information on artwork, images, newspapers, journals, books, and government documents from 1106 to 1960.
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.
An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.
ProQuest Digital Dissertations-- Provides bibliographic citations, and full-text access for doctoral dissertations and master's thesis completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide.
This database provides full text, full image of nearly 100 scholarly journals from Johns Hopkins Press and other scholarly publishers. Provides searching of full text across all journals in the database, selected journal titles, or in just a single title. Allows searching of table of contents of articles and book reviews by author and title as well as by Library of Congress subject headings. Full Text.
Includes indexes and abstracts for articles in sociology and related disciplines in 20,000 journals in 30 different languages. Doctoral dissertations and book reviews are also included. Includes some full text. Coverage is 1963 to the present.
This database, produced by the American Economic Association, is the premier bibliographic index to economic literature. It indexes journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations and conference proceedings. Includes partial full-text.
The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
A massive index and abstracting service focused on the subject areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the index is international in scope, and incorporates both periodicals and books. Coverage is 1963 to the present. Abstracts Only.
Contains nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature, including novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises.
