Need more help? Contact us!
- Email us
- Law library faculty & staff directory
- Schedule an online appointment with a Reference Librarian (Limited to College of Law students, faculty and staff)
- Law library home page
Examples & Explanations
The Examples & Explanations series, published by Wolters Kluwer, offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations in a clear, conversational style. The books can be used throughout the semester to test your understanding and at exam time to help you review.
- Current editions are shelved in the Browseable Reserves area near the Circulation Desk and can be checked out for one day. (During reading period and exams the loan period is reduced to four hours.)
- Older editions are shelved in the Stacks (General Collection) and have a longer check-out period.
- The Law Library owns most of the titles in the series; the cover image below is just one example.
The Law of Torts by
A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures
ISBN: 9781454850113Publication Date: 2015-01-28
Understanding... Series
The Understanding... series, published by LexisNexis, provide a concise but comprehensive overview of specific areas of law.
- Many of the titles in the Understanding... series are available online through the LexisNexis Digital Library. You can log in with your student ID and password and are able to highlight and create and save notes as you read. Online titles can be checked out for four weeks and your notes and highlights are saved.
- Current print editions of the Understanding... series are shelved in the Browseable Reserves area near the Circulation Desk and can be checked out for one day. (During reading period and exams the loan period is reduced to four hours.)
- Older print editions are shelved in the Stacks (General Collection) and have a longer check-out period.
- The Law Library owns most of the titles in the series; the link and cover image below is just one example.
Nutshells
Nutshells are a series of books published by West Academic that provide a quick overview of important issues of law, highlighting key cases and statutes.
- Current editions of Nutshells are shelved in the "Nutshell Nook" area near the Circulation Desk. They can be checked out for one day.
- Older editions of Nutshells are shelved in the Stacks (General Collection) and have a longer check-out period.
- The Law Library owns many of the titles in the series; the cover image below is just one example.
Civil Procedure by
Rules of civil procedure govern everything that happens outside of criminal proceedings. This Nutshell provides a road map to navigating civil procedure rules and helps build a foundation for understanding the overall picture. Topics discussed include how to choose the proper court, pretrial and trial preparation, adjudication, judgments, appeals, and specialized multiparty/multiclaim proceedings.
ISBN: 9780314285881Publication Date: 2013-02-05
Hornbooks
Hornbooks are summaries and explanations of a particular area of law. Most are written by law professors and intended for use by law students. They usually discuss major cases and present “black letter law” in that particular specialty. There are also "Concise Hornbooks" which do not include as much detail as regular Hornbooks. Most Hornbooks are published by West.
- The Law Library has a selection of Hornbooks on various topics.
- Newer and more popular editions are in the Browseable Reserve collection shelved near the Circulation Desk. Those shelved in Browseable Reserve can be checked out for one day.
- More Hornbooks can be found shelved in the Stacks (General Collection) and have a longer check-out period.
Health Law by
Expert authors present an up-to-date overview of health law as it affects the professionals, institutions, and entities that deliver and finance health care in the United States. Considers the law's response to quality and error through institutional and professional regulation, and malpractice litigation against professionals, hospitals, and managed care organizations. Surveys tax, corporate, and organizational issues. Explores the government's efforts to control costs and expand access through Medicare and Medicaid. Examines government attempts to police anticompetitive activities, fraud, and abuse. And considers the legal and ethical issues involving death, human reproduction, medical treatment decision making, and medical research. The Affordable Care Act, HIPAA, HITECH, and other new statutory and regulatory changes of the past few years are thoroughly incorporated in all aspects of the legal discussion.
ISBN: 9780314289070Publication Date: 2014-11-14
