English: Finding Book Reviews

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Prime source for book reviews covering all academic areas. Reviews are available from 1987 forward.

An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.

This database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF® files. When the project is complete the coverage will span from 1849 to 2001.

NYRB represents one of the finest literary and intellectual journals in the English Language. This archival version extends from 1963 to the present, and comprehends more that 850 back issues and 16,000 articles. The database is fully searchable by keyword, date range, author and article type.

This database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF® files. Coverage spans 1851 to 2001.

This is a new product that substitutes scanned digital images for traditional microfilm and microfiche. NIU currently offers five publications on the new medium--Barron's, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post. The papers have a moving wall that extends from 2008 forward. Like traditional microfilm there is a three month or so lag time from initial posting to appearance as scanned image. On the other hand, digital microfilm is much more readily accessible and easier to manipulate than traditional microform images.To initiate a search use the pull down menu at the top of page and select an individual newspaper. From there select a date. The database is highly flexible in that it allows the user to crop, zoom, copy and otherwise adjust the digital image.

The TLS is one of the premier contemporary literary reviews.
This mirror to the cultural history of our century - fully indexed with most of the original contributors now revealed for the first time - delivers unparalleled research information to scholars, students and librarians. Coverage is 1902 to 2006.