Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Full-text of Godey's Ladys Book (1830-1880), The Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1880), The Civil War: Newspaper Perspective (1861-1865), African American Newspapers: the 19th century. Full Text.
Chicago Tribune (Historical) This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF® files. When the project is complete the coverage will span from 1849 to 2001.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
The database represents the largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the United States during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive online collection features hundreds of fully searchable Hispanic American newspapers, and delivers a diversity of unabridged voices, ranging from intellectuals and literary notables to politicians, union organizers and grassroots figures.
Historic Newspaper: Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online (1841-1902) This link opens in a new window
This digitization project was undertaken by the Brooklyn Public Library. The sixty year newspaper record attests to the growth and expansion of Brooklyn as a vital hub to New York.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF® files. Coverage spans 1851 to 2001.
ProQuest Digitized Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This is a new product that substitutes scanned digital images for traditional microfilm and microfiche. NIU currently offers five publications on the new medium--Barron's, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post. The papers have a moving wall that extends from 2008 forward. Like traditional microfilm there is a three month or so lag time from initial posting to appearance as scanned image. On the other hand, digital microfilm is much more readily accessible and easier to manipulate than traditional microform images.To initiate a search use the pull down menu at the top of page and select an individual newspaper. From there select a date. The database is highly flexible in that it allows the user to crop, zoom, copy and otherwise adjust the digital image.
World Newspaper Archive: Africa This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published between 1800 and 1922. African Newspapers features titles published in Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Languages include English, German, French, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Sotho, and others.
World Newspaper Archive: Latin America I and II This link opens in a new window
The database produced in conjunction with the Center for Research Libraries includes more than 100 nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin American newspapers, featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.
World Newspaper Archive: South Asia,1864-1922 This link opens in a new window
Covers the aftermath of the Indian Rebellion;construction of railroads; effects of British Colonial rule; Hindu-Muslim conflicts; life on coffee, tea and rubber plantations; Morely-Minto Reforms; formation of the Indian National Congress; start of Mahatma Gandhi's independence movement; economics,politics, the arts and much more.