Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Black Literature Index This link opens in a new window
This database searches over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940. Links are provided to the full text of citations for the Chicago Defender.
Film Literature Index This link opens in a new window
FLI annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews. Coverage 1976-2001.
Inter-Play This link opens in a new window
An index to plays in anthologies, collections, and periodicals. Updated bi-monthly. Abstracts Only.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
The database represents a composite of five long standing series--Children's Literature Review, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Shakespearean Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Each of the series can be searched separately or altogether. The net result is that tens of thousands of essays are readily available online.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A massive index and abstracting service focused on the subject areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the index is international in scope, and incorporates both periodicals and books. Coverage is 1963 to the present. Abstracts Only.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online--is a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and 2013. Containing over 131,800 annotated entries, this collected information is an essential tool for anyone engaged in research on Shakespeare or early modern England.
Chicago Tribune (Historical) This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF® files. When the project is complete the coverage will span from 1849 to 2001.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media.
International Index to Black Periodicals This link opens in a new window
IBP includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean, and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals. Most IIBP records in the current coverage contain an abstract, and additionally many IIBP records contain the corresponding full text of the original article. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary, spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline.
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB Online) This link opens in a new window
The International Medieval Bibliography was founded in 1967 with the support of the Medieval Academy of America, with the aim of providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. Its editorial staff is based at Institute for Medieval Studies at the University of Leeds, and the project is supported by over 50 teams of contributors in Europe, North America, Australia and Japan.
New York Review of Books This link opens in a new window
NYRB represents one of the finest literary and intellectual journals in the English Language. This archival version extends from 1963 to the present, and comprehends more that 850 back issues and 16,000 articles. The database is fully searchable by keyword, date range, author and article type.
Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window
Is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2006 This link opens in a new window
The TLS is one of the premier contemporary literary reviews.
This mirror to the cultural history of our century - fully indexed with most of the original contributors now revealed for the first time - delivers unparalleled research information to scholars, students and librarians. Coverage is 1902 to 2006.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window
An index of articles from nearly 12,500 journals addressing all academic areas. Coverage is 1990 to the present. ArticleFirst is in First Search. Some Full Text.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher--provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. The backfile for the database extends to 1923.
ProQuest Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Digital Dissertations-- Provides bibliographic citations, and full-text access for doctoral dissertations and master's thesis completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide.