Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Abstracts, Indexes and Related Databases
Eight Centuries This link opens in a new window
(Formerly known as 19th Century Masterfile) The electronic version of a standard reference index to the published books, periodicals, newspapers and government documents of the 19th century, covering 3.7 million records. Initial searches are run in the periodicals covered in Poole' by keywords as free text, as title elements, and by author name. Topics can then be expanded to books, newspapers, magazines and government publications. Users should be aware that some of the periodicals covered by Poole's are becoming available in electronic full-text form, an example being Harper's Weekly, (accessible from the University Libraries' link to Harp Week). Entries in Poole's are not full-text.
ACLS Humanities E-Book
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to titles in most humanities disciplines and in area studies. The books included have been recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. Offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with ten learned societies and nearly 80 contributing publishers.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles from over 2,100 journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. Coverage is 1982 to the present and is updated three times per year. Abstracts Only.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
The bibliography of Asian Studies contains over 410,000 records on all fields of study (especially the social sciences and the humanities) relating to East, South and Southeast Asia published worldwide since 1971. Up to 1991, citations to western-language periodical articles, individual monographs, chapters in edited volumes, anthologies, memorial works and conference proceedings. A listing of the 100 most important periodicals in Asian studies is provided. Browsing is available by region, country, subject, and journal title. Abstracts Only.
HAPI online This link opens in a new window
HAPI online--Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) comprehends approximately 300,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
HAPI currently provides over 100,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature on world history (excluding U.S. and Canada) and the profession of history in 2,100 journals. Coverage is 1982 to the present. Abstracts Only.
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB Online) This link opens in a new window
The International Medieval Bibliography was founded in 1967 with the support of the Medieval Academy of America, with the aim of providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. Its editorial staff is based at Institute for Medieval Studies at the University of Leeds, and the project is supported by over 50 teams of contributors in Europe, North America, Australia and Japan.
Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus Online This link opens in a new window
Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus Online -- is a highly practical lexicon, providing researchers, teaching staff and students in the field of Medieval History with concise, essential information. This new online edition, still the compendious lexicon for rapid information envisaged by Niermeyer, recreates the second print edition (2002) on Brills Dictionary Platform, providing French, English and German translations for every entry of a Medieval Latin concept and searches on lemma and full text: searches can be refined by century of use. All entries are contextualized with relevant text passages. The Niermeyer Lexicon Minus has proved to be invaluable to medievalists for almost 50 years and is an indispensable working tool for academic libraries.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Atlantic History This link opens in a new window
Atlantic history is a fast developing field of historical inquiry that operates upon new assumptions about how to understand the remarkable nature of interactions between different peoples and cultures on four continents and many islands in the period between Columbus' voyages to the New World in the late fifteenth century and the end of slavery in the Americas in the late nineteenth century. Its principal theme is the movement of peoples, ideas and things in the Atlantic Word, a world encompassing the continents of Africa, Europe, North America and South America and many islands, from the Canary Islands near Africa to the Caribbean islands and to Bermuda in the North Atlantic. The multiple movements were fundamentally important in shaping the modern world and in making cultural diversity a key component of modern identity.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Medieval Studies This link opens in a new window
The field of Medieval Studies explores European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. This period, which has a critical importance for the understanding of Western culture, can best be approached through a combination of several disciplines, from history to literature, from art to archaeology, from religion to gender studies. As such, it is constantly responding to the emergence of new interpretations and ideas for scholars to consider. In addition to the extensive scholarship which already exists, much of the most recent work has moved online so that today' students and researchers have ready access to primary source texts and a range of other electronic resources. Managing the ever-expanding universe of scholarly information in this field of study has proved to be a monumental if not near impossible task. Oxford Bibliographies in Medieval Studies provides students and scholars with a reliable and authoritative solution to the problem of information overload.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Renaissance and Reformation This link opens in a new window
The field of Renaissance and Reformation studies, which has a critical importance for the understanding of Western culture, can best be approached through a combination of several disciplines including history, the arts, and literature. As such, it is constantly responding to the emergence of new interpretations and ideas for scholars to consider. Besides the extensive scholarship which already exists, much of the most recent work has moved online so that today' students and researchers have ready access to primary source texts and a range of other electronic resources. Oxford Bibliographies Renaissance and Reformation is designed to provide authoritative guidance. In contrast to print bibliographies and electronic indexes that simply list citations, this innovative online reference tool will combine the best features of a high-level encyclopedia and the best features of a traditional bibliography put together in a style that responds to the way people do research online.
SHAFR Guide Online This link opens in a new window
The SHAFR Guide Online : An Annotated Bibliography of U.S. Foreign Relations since 1600 (Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations)—the database offers a near comprehensive 2.1 million-word online bibliography of historical work covering the entire span of U.S. foreign relations.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Plus: The database brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
Chicago Manual of Style Online, 15th - 17th edition This link opens in a new window
This new edition of the venerable guide to the preparation of manuscripts, articles, and papers has been thoroughly overhauled and updated to reflect the new realities of digital texts and electronic publishing.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
This database, produced by the American Economic Association, is the premier bibliographic index to economic literature. It indexes journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations and conference proceedings. Includes partial full-text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A massive index and abstracting service focused on the subject areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the index is international in scope, and incorporates both periodicals and books. Coverage is 1963 to the present. Abstracts Only.
Philosophers Index This link opens in a new window
A premier indexing and abstracting service in the areas of aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic and metaphysics. In addition, there is broad coverage of related
interdisciplinary fields such as philosophy of science, history, law, etc. Coverage is 1940 to the present. Abstracts Only.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text, full image of nearly 100 scholarly journals from Johns Hopkins Press and other scholarly publishers. Provides searching of full text
across all journals in the database, selected journal titles, or in just a single title. Allows searching of table of contents of articles and book reviews by author and title
as well as by Library of Congress subject headings. Full Text.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes indexes and abstracts for articles in sociology and related disciplines in 20,000 journals in 30 different languages. Doctoral dissertations and book reviews are also included. Includes some full text. Coverage is 1963 to the present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI/ Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. The serials list of the new database is actively under construction, with a focus on expanding international coverage. As of October 2001, approximately 1010 titles are being monitored for coverage; this list is expected to reach 1250 titles by 2002. Coverage 1975-present.