Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
ANB is a biographical resource on American history and culture. It includes 17,453 original biographies from the print editions in addition to new biographies by leading historians added every three months and quarterly updates incorporating new scholarship and factual information. There are some 80,000 hypertext links. Full Text.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
The database offers an important destination for searching historical documents, personal papers, and family histories in archives around the world.
Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
Chicago Manual of Style Online, 15th - 17th edition This link opens in a new window
This new edition of the venerable guide to the preparation of manuscripts, articles, and papers has been thoroughly overhauled and updated to reflect the new realities of digital texts and electronic publishing.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration This link opens in a new window
The database aims to provide a comprehensive picture of the role of immigration in American history and up-to-date perspectives on contemporary immigration.
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History This link opens in a new window
Explores the events, policies, people, ideas, institutions, groups, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States. With contributions from scholars in the fields of history and political science, this encyclopedia provides students, researchers, and scholars the opportunity to examine the political evolution of the United States from the colonial period to the present day. It identifies and illuminates patterns and interrelations in American political institutions, culture, and behavior.
Historical Statistics of the United States, Millennial Edition This link opens in a new window
This thoroughly revised five-volume reference work (last release was 1975), available both in print and electronic editions, reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography--The new and updated database includes 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2005.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online This link opens in a new window
An authoritative, dynamic online resource for students and faculty, the database brings together the best current scholarship in the field and promotes accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world.
This fully integrated resource features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in the field and covers areas such as global Islamic history, the faith and concepts of Islam, the people, tenets and practices, politics, culture, and more. The site is regularly updated and will incorporate many newly commissioned essays.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Database comprises a wide array of reference materials including dictionaries, thesauri, and encyclopedia.
Sage eReference This link opens in a new window
This database represents a collection of more than sixty recent reference works published by Sage. The volumes can be searched either individually or collectively. As a group the titles cover a wide swath of social science and allied health fields.
SHAFR Guide Online This link opens in a new window
The SHAFR Guide Online : An Annotated Bibliography of U.S. Foreign Relations since 1600 (Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations)—the database offers a near comprehensive 2.1 million-word online bibliography of historical work covering the entire span of U.S. foreign relations.