Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Web Resources
There has been a plethora of web sites posted by working historians. Below are listed several outstanding sites that cover a broad terrain.
- H-Net: Humanities Online--This site supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities originally the outgrowth of a consortium of history oriented email lists. Today H-Net encompasses well over one-hundred scholarly discussion groups which includes an enormous variety of regional, topical and methodological orientations. Most of the affiliates have compiled a critical inventory of relevant web sites. All told H-Net provides electronic access to thousands of resources.
- Livius : Articles on Ancient History--Hundreds of essays and articles on people, places, events, and culture of the classical world. Covers Greece, Rome, Persia, Egypt, Anatolia, Judaea, Germania, Carthage, and Mesopotamia.
- The Labyrinth : Resources for Medieval Studies--The Labyrinth is a well-organized and extensive virtual library which provides links to resources in Medieval Studies. Cultures covered include those of the British Isles, Anglo-Saxon, France, Germany, Iberia, Italy, and Scandinavia. Sections on archaeology, arts and architecture, general Medieval history, Latin, Manuscripts (Paleography, Codicology), music, philosophy and theology, religious history, and sciences are presented. Special topics include Arthurian Studies, heraldry, arms, and chivalry,Vikings, runes, and Norse culture. Many Latin texts are provided.
- World History Sources—article, images and primary resources ranging across world cultures.
- Europeana--Multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.
- American Memory from the Library of Congress--It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
- International Institute of Social History, Amsterdam--world's largest documentary and research institutions in the field of social history in general and the history of the labor movement in particular.
- Discovering American Women's History Online—the site features an expansive array of primary sources that document the history of women in the United States.
- ECHO: Exploring and Collecting History Online: Science and Technology—the site boasts more than 5,000 links related to all aspects of the history of science and technology.
We would be remiss to overlook two history oriented web sites that were instigated and are currently maintined here at NIU.
- Labor History Links--This site is the most comprehensive bibliography of information, documents and links of U.S. labor history sites on the internet. The site was developed by Professor Rosemary Feurer for the Labor and Working Class History Association.
Chronicling America - Historic American Newspaper (Library of Congress) - A vast collection of digitized newspapers dating from 1777 to 1963.