American Geographical Society Digital Photo Archive -Based at the Universiy of Wisconsin-Madison, this site offers a selection of images dating from the mid-ninteenth century to modern times drawn from individual record groups within the Society's collection. The geographic amphasis is on the Middle East and Asia.
Australian Antarctic Magazine - Begun in 2001, this journal covers all aspects of Australian southern polar research-full text access to the complete back set is available.
Cities Around the World - This site offers 6,100 photographs drawn from the American Geographical Society collection depicting 450 cities worldwide taken between 1942 and 1994. Major ancient urban centers such as Persepolis are also included.
Finding Exurbia: America's Fast-Growing Communities at the Metropolitan Fringe - Based on population and economic data collected between 1990 and 2005, this study by the Brookings Institution defines an exurb as a community on an urban fringe 20% of whose populagtion commute into the urban center for work, whcih exhibits low population density and high growth .
Latin American Travelogues - A full text collection of travel accounts on the nations and regions of Latin America written between the sixteenth and ninteenth centuries.
The Great Kanto Earthquake of 1923 -A collection of over 100 digitized photographs , some taken at Yokohama immediately after the Great Kanto Earthquake in the autumn of 1923 by an American traveler. The collection as a whole covers both the earthquake and the experience of travelling abroad in East Asia just after World War I.
Travel, Tourism, and Urban Growth in Greater Miami: A Digital Archive - This site offers both a timeline of development in the Miami area ( beginning in 1819 with Spain's sale of Florida to the United States and continiung to the year 2000 ) and eighteen themed sections ranging from Art Deco and hurricanes to post war urban growth in the region.
Urban planning, 1794-1918: An international anthology of articles, conference papers, and reports. - John W. Reps (Cornell University) has compiled a bibliography of original source material in urban planning, primarily covering the 19th century. This wide-ranging site is a trove of information. Each bibliographic entry is annotated with a brief essay that includes a biography of the author and a discussion of the work's importance. Subjects covered include the principles, standards, and procedures for European, American, and Australian city planning.
WIND and SEA: the oceanic and atmospheric sciences Internet locator - An up-front index lists 40 main topics, from air pollution to wetlands. Of these, oceanography, weather, climate, coastal studies, endangered species, the history of oceanic and atmospheric sciences, and wetlands are categories most relevant geography.
