Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are OERs?
"Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning and research materials in any medium – digital or otherwise – that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits no-cost access, use, adaptation and redistribution by others with no or limited restrictions." (UNESCO, https://en.unesco.org/themes/building-knowledge-societies/oer)
Additional Open Access Resources
Free access to non-copyright protected classic texts, thousands of e-books, poems, articles, short stories and plays.
Creative Commons Search
While not a search engine, this provides access to search services provided by other organizations, such as Wikimedia Commons, Flikr, and Jamendo.
Digital Public Library of America
Discover 38,769,388 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
A constantly growing collection. Best to search by title and author.
Provides access to more than 33,000 titles in a variety of eBook reader formats as well as PDF.
Online Books Page
An index of over two million online books freely readable on the Internet with pointers to significant directories and archives of online texts.
A collection of free ebooks, audio books, textbooks, films, and language lessons.
Oxford Text Archive
Provides access to thousands of high-quality, well-documented electronic texts in a variety of languages and downloadable formats.
The first provider of free eBooks, provides access to over 33,000 books which may be downloaded as HTML, simple text formats, or to a variety of portable devices.