It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hathi Trust is a digital repository for the nation's great research libraries, bringing together the immense collections of partner institutions. Conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and the University of California system, HathiTrust established a repository for these universities to archive and share their digitized collections, making their collections available, to everyone, anywhere, any time.
This electronic books package includes more than 35,000 titles covering a broad array of academic disciplines. Setting up an individual account in E-brary will allow you to download the title for a limited time, and/or save portions of text.
It is the first book to write women into Fiji's postcolonial history, providing a detailed historical account of that country's gender politics across four tumultuous decades. It is also the first to examine the 'situated' nature of gender advocacy in the Pacific Islands more broadly.
The Women, Gender and Development Reader II is the definitive volume of literature dedicated to women in the development process. Now in a fully revised second edition, the editors expertly present the impacts of social, political and economic change by reviewing such topical issues as migration, persistent structural discrimination, the global recession, and climate change. Approached from a multidisciplinary perspective, the theoretical debates are vividly illustrated by an array of global case studies.This now classic book, has been designed as a comprehensive reader, presenting the best of the now vast body of literature. The book is divided into five parts, incorporating readings from the leading experts and authorities in each field. The result is a unique and extensive discussion, a guide to the evolution of the field, and a vital point of reference for those studying or with a keen interest in women in the development process.
The pace of socioeconomic transformation in India over the past two and a half decades has been formidable. This volume sheds light on how these transformations have played out at the level of everyday life to influence the lives of Indian women, and gender relations more broadly. Through ethnographically grounded case studies, the authors portray the contradictory and contested co-existence of discrepant gendered norms, values and visions in a society caught up in wider processes of sociopolitical change. 'Women, Gender and Everyday Social Transformation in India' moves the debate on gender and social transformation into the domain of everyday life to arrive at locally embedded and detailed, ethnographically informed analyses of gender relations in real-life contexts that foreground both subtle and not-so-subtle negotiations and contestations.
Features a single, fully integrated platform, offering access to tens of thousands of full-length streaming video titles. Virtually every video in the collection is fully transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type. As a result, students and scholars can combine keyword and fielded search capabilities to frame creative and highly targeted queries. Users can also select to view a single video collection by using the dropdown menu at the top of the homepage of Academic Video Online.
Kanopy - furnishes more than 30,000 streaming video titles for a broad variety of academic disciplines. An annual subscription is available on request for $150 per title. Owing to expense only faculty requests for mandatory class assignments will be honored. Students who generate a Kanopy request will be directed to contact their instructor.
LBGT Studies in Video-- is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. LGBT Studies in Video provides students and researchers across disciplines a multi-content perspective on the LGBT political, cultural and social movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. It also provides key resources of interest to students and researchers in sociology, anthropology, psychology, counseling, history, political science, gender studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.
Swank Digital Campus - the platform offers streaming video access to more than 25,000 titles. Swank partners with major Hollywood studios, independent filmmakers and international film companies to provide a diverse library of feature films, and documentaries. The wide range of titles ensures all academic departments can find the movies needed to promote active and engaged learning in their classrooms.
Faculty may request individual films for required classroom usage. Faculty requests are premised on creating a one-time faculty profile. To create a faculty profile, please go to the vendor's site and click on "Login":
On the next page, click on "Create Instructor Account" and submit the completed form:
Please allow a forty-eight hour window for approval and activation of individual requests.