LibGuides: Transition from Web of Science to Scopus: Other Citation Tracking Databases

Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify relevant material across the world of scholarly research.

Connect Google Scholar to full text from NIU Libraries

Did you know that you can link Google Scholar to full text of materials from Northern Illinois University Libraries? Here’s how:

In Google Scholar, use the menu button on the upper left-hand corner of the screen to navigate to Settings.
Click on Library Links.
Search for Northern Illinois University.
Check off “Northern Illinois University - View It @ NIU"
Save.

Your search results will now include “View It @ NIU” links. For more information about using View IT @ NIU to access full text, see Using FIND IT to Access the Full Text.

Microsoft Academic

Microsoft Academic
Is a free web base citation database which indexes and track citations for journals, conferences and other publications that are findable and indexed by Microsoft's Search engine Bing. It is a semantic search engine that compares the keywords type into the search box to indexed terms. The database will provide suggested search term based upon user input to help find the information more quickly. It uses machine learning to assign articles to authors and authors can register and claim or reject articles assigned to them to increase the accuracy of the database.

Dimensions

Dimensions
Dimensions is freely available for personal, non -commercial use. It indexes book and book chapters, conference proceeding, scholarly journal and preprints. It provides filters to narrow searches down quickly, as well as citation -based indicators and Altmetric attention scores. This tool provides access to funding resources as well as research .