Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Preservation at Northern: Sending Books to Repair

This guide provides links and materials regarding collection preservation and repairs at NIU's University Libraries.

Contact Information

Who To Contact for Repairs


 

Paper and Paper-Adjacent Materials

Technical Services

Location: Founders Memorial 71S

Phone: 815-753-0528

Rare Books and Special Collections

Rare Books and Special Collections

Location: Founders Memorial 403

Phone: 815-753-9838

Email: rbsc@niu.edu

Homepage: 

https://library.niu.edu/ulib/content/collections/rbsc/index.shtml


Staff might change over the course of time, so this guide will not list specific people to contact.

When Books DO NOT Need Repair

When a Book Doesn't Look Perfect,

but Doesn't Need Repair

 

  • Slightly frayed tops of spines but book is still intact and strong 
  • Corners are only slightly worn
  • Books look repaired but are sound
  • Pages are folded and dog-eared

What Not to Do

What Not to Do for Damaged Books

DO NOT use tape to correct torn pages.

Repeat: DO NOT use any form of tape, adhesive, or plastic to correct anything on a book

Do not use tape on any part of a book. When attaching information to an object, use a piece of paper as a bookmark, or a short-term post-it style note.

 

Examples of Types of Repairs

Here are some examples of the sorts of repairs Technical Services can undertake.

Spines are torn or falling off:

These book can have their spines re-affixed.

 

Covers are falling off:

These covers can be pasted back down.

Pages are torn, loose or missing:

These pages can be glued back in place, "tipped" in, or otherwise re-affixed.

 

 

Hinges are torn or loose:

These hinges can be re-secured.

 

Contents are loose, super is torn and book is separated from cover:

The text block can be re-affixed to the cover.

Cover is splitting at corners, very dirty, etc.:

This cover can be cleaned and even re-covered.

Insect, mold, water damage:

Mold is particularly important to catch as mold can spread to the rest of the collection!

Mold can be killed and cleaned. Insects can be removed.

Brittle pages:

These can be tipped in or re-hinged to prevent loss.

Broken back:

This can be resecured.

Misshapen books:

While more difficult, many misshapen books can be reformed.