Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Contact the nutrition subject specialist librarian, Elizabeth "Betsy" Sterner at email@example.com for personalized help.
NOTE: In order to access many of the Libraries' resources, you need to be authenticated as an NIU student, faculty or staff member with your Z-ID or A-ID and password. For more information about authenticating and off-campus access, visit https://library.niu.edu/university-libraries/help/authentication.shtml.
HuskieSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
One-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
HuskieSearch also helps you manage your research. Sign-in to:
- Renew books and videos
- Create favorites lists
- Export citations to Endnote Web
- View full search results (Some databases, only show results when you're signed in.)
For more information about using HuskieSearch, check out the HuskieSearch User Guide.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Also known as Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINAHL), the database provides citations to articles, new books and pamphlets, audiovisual materials, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice and educational software. Material from librarianship, biomedicine, management, health sciences, education and consumer health journals are also included.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides over 520 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 560 journals. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is part of the Ebsco family of databases.
MEDLINE (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
An immense database produced by the National Library of Medicine. International coverage of more than 3,500 journals covering all areas of biomedical research. Some Full Text. Coverage is 1965 to the present. Medline is on FirstSearch.
Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews. Series A, Human and Experimental This link opens in a new window
Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews is a fully searchable abstract database covering the latest information on all issues related to food and health - from food composition and safety to obesity, parenteral nutrition and allergies. NARA features all aspects of human nutrition, including:
• Physiology and Biochemistry
• Nutrition and Health
• Clinical Nutrition
The database is combined with Review of Plant Pathology. In order to limit the search strictly to Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews one must select the title from a drop down menu at the bottom of the "Advanced" search page.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
Provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
An immense database produced by the National Library of Medicine. International coverage of more than 3,500 journals covering all areas of biomedical research. Coverage is 1965 to the present.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. Scopus quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools. Be confident in progressing research, teaching or research direction and priorities — all from one database and with one subscription.
NIU Libraries provides to more than 200 databases, both general and specialized. Explore them alphabetically or by subject below.
Reference Databases: Search for Definitions, Background, and Overview Information
Search 100's of encyclopedias & dictionaries at once using our Reference Databases
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Search Oxford Reference for topics in Modern Languages, Literature, History, Classics, STEM fields, Business, Philosophy, Geography, Environmental Studies, Fine Arts, and the Humanities.
Sage eReference This link opens in a new window
Search SAGE for topics in Education, Psychology, Sociology, Geography, Law, Business, Media Studies and Political Science.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Offering information in a quick and easy format, and providing quality, scholarly resources, the Gale Virtual Reference Library is a valuable resource for any library collection and for users of all types.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Reference Universe--contains 35 million data elements to over 45,000 specialized reference works. The elements are matched to NIU's electronic and print holdings, offering a customized view of local reference materials.
Specialized Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America by
The history of food and drink in America is an exciting tale of unexpected twists and turns that are even more amusing than the oft-repeated myths. It is a story filled with hot-shot inventors, high-flying promoters, risk-taking growers, efficiency-conscious processors, hard-hitting advertisers, and lip-smacking consumers--all of whom have contributed to transforming lowly American food into a worldwide culinary delight. In 800 intriguing articles (from over 200 contributors), the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink. In an A-Z format, this two-volume set details the regions, people, ingredients, foods, drinks, publications, advertising, companies, historical periods, and political and economic aspects pertinent to American cuisine. With contributions from academia, industry, and the culinary world, the Encyclopedia provides a far-ranging yet cohesive account of American history and culture from a gastronomic perspective. From the extravagant feasts of Diamond Jim Brady in the Gilded Age to the fad diets and the health consciousness of today, the status and cultural significance of American food and rink has transformed throughout the years. With interesting anecdotes, informative sidebars, and generous bibliographies, the Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America will captivate readers--from scholars and food lovers everywhere--in this journey through American culinary history.
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2004-12-09
Health Sciences & Science Librarian