LibGuides: Hospitality and Tourism Management: Finding Resources

Library Resources

HuskieSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.

HuskieSearch One-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.

HuskieSearch also helps you manage your research. Sign-in to:

Renew books and videos
Create favorites lists
Export citations to Endnote Web
View full search results (Some databases, only show results when you're signed in.)

For more information about using HuskieSearch, check out the HuskieSearch User Guide.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. (This database is partially funded by NIU College of Business.)
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Also known as Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINAHL), the database provides citations to articles, new books and pamphlets, audiovisual materials, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice and educational software. Material from librarianship, biomedicine, management, health sciences, education and consumer health journals are also included.
EconLit This link opens in a new window This database, produced by the American Economic Association, is the premier bibliographic index to economic literature. It indexes journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations and conference proceedings. Includes partial full-text.
Hoovers online This link opens in a new window The information in Hoover's is now contained in Mergent Intellect.
Hospitality and Tourism Index This link opens in a new window Is a bibliographic database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Subject areas covered include the culinary arts, demographics & statistics, development & investment, food & beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure & business travel, market trends, technology and more.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window IBISWorld--since 1971 the firm has provided thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information. The database offers valuable insight into America's 700+ industries.
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window Furnishes online access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents. Comprehending more than 180,000 documents and covering over 100 countries and industries, Mergent Archives employs a reliable and easy to navigate system designed to meet your historical research needs.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window Mergent Intellect--is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B®'s private company database, Mergent Intellect offers a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews. Series A, Human and Experimental This link opens in a new window Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews is a fully searchable abstract database covering the latest information on all issues related to food and health - from food composition and safety to obesity, parenteral nutrition and allergies. NARA features all aspects of human nutrition, including: • Techniques • Foods • Physiology and Biochemistry • Nutrition and Health • Clinical Nutrition The database is combined with Review of Plant Pathology. In order to limit the search strictly to Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews one must select the title from a drop down menu at the bottom of the "Advanced" search page.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window PrivCo--the premier source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
PubMed This link opens in a new window An immense database produced by the National Library of Medicine. International coverage of more than 3,500 journals covering all areas of biomedical research. Coverage is 1965 to the present.
Statista This link opens in a new window Statista — a leading provider of market and consumer data which consolidates statistics and narrative reports on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window Swank Digital Campus - the platform offers streaming video access to more than 25,000 titles. Swank partners with major Hollywood studios, independent filmmakers and international film companies to provide a diverse library of feature films, and documentaries. The wide range of titles ensures all academic departments can find the movies needed to promote active and engaged learning in their classrooms. Faculty may request individual films for required classroom usage. Faculty requests are premised on creating a one-time faculty profile. To create a faculty profile, please go to the vendor's site and click on "Login": On the next page, click on "Create Instructor Account" and submit the completed form: Please allow a forty-eight hour window for approval and activation of individual requests.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Wiley journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and the top of the homepage features a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,785 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.

NIU Libraries provides to more than 200 databases, both general and specialized. Explore them alphabetically or by subject below.

Database Search Tips

ALT Text: A search with quotations around a phrase like "higher education" will include results with those two words beside each other. A search with OR between two words like principal OR administrator will include results with either term. In Google Scholar, exclude a word from a search with a hyphen before the word. For example, neurdivergent -ADHD will include results about neurodiversity but not ADHD. You can also specify that your search words are in the title or author of results by placing intitle: or author: at the front of your search. In ERIC and Education Source (EBSCO), exclude a word from a search by putting NOT before the word. Also, ending a word with an asterisk will include results with different endings of the word. For example, a search for academ* will include results like academic, academy, academies, etc.

Hospitality and Tourism Management: Finding Resources

Need help with your research?

Library Resources

Database Search Tips