Children's and Young Adult Literature: Articles and Databases

Best Bet Contains information on over 260,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles. Features lists of award-winning books, book discussion guides, Read-a-Like recommendations, and complete series information. Also includes reader ratings and reviews. Create your own reading wish list.

Best BetFind articles from two of the largest collections of education research in the world.

Best Bet A massive index and abstracting service focused on the subject areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the index is international in scope, and incorporates both periodicals and books. Coverage is 1963 to the present. Abstracts Only.

Best BetERIC is the largest database of educational resources and research in the world, containing over 1.8 million journal articles, conference papers, official reports, theses, etc. Coverage is 1996 to present. Full Text.

Intended as a curricular and collection development resource, this ALA Carnegie-Whitney grant-sponsored database offers a guide to recent award-winning preK-12 books on the experience of immigrant children and teens in the United States. Search options include key immigrant character national/ethnic/religious affiliation, gender, immigrant generation, book genre, reader grade level, and historical period. A single keyword/phrase search is also enabled. Each included book title contains an annotation.

This e-book collection supports a quality learning experience for K-8 students across all subject areas taught in elementary and middle schools.The database allows you to search by reading level.

Access to high-quality e-books covering a wide range of topics such as self-help, fitness, games, hobbies, and cooking. This general reference e-book collection features titles for both adults and juveniles.

The database features thousands of illustrated biographical profiles--more than 12,000 entries--of children's authors and illustrators, all in an easy-to-use interface that is ideal for teachers, librarians, professors, students, and other researchers of children's and young adult literature.

The database represents a composite of five long standing series--Children's Literature Review, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Shakespearean Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Each of the series can be searched separately or altogether. The net result is that tens of thousands of essays are readily available online.

Full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals, and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories, and poems.

Indexes more than 229 library science periodicals, along with books, library school theses, and pamphlets. Records present bibliographic information only and some full text links. Coverage is 1984-.

An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.