LibGuides: Children's and Young Adult Literature: Finding Children's and YA Books

Finding Children's and YA Literature

ALSC Book & Media Awards Shelf
This collection of nearly 2,000 books, recordings, apps, and websites for children spans 100 years, reflecting the evolution of ALSC’s awards history AND delivering the latest, greatest materials for contemporary readers, listeners, learners, and gamers, as well. Note: When looking at older winners especially, please remember that they were selected as the best of THEIR time, not necessarily the best of ALL time, and may be quite dated for today's young readers.
Caldecott Award
The Caldecott Medal is awarded annually by the ALA to "the artist most of the most distinguished American picture book for children."
*Many Caldecott award and honor books are available at Founder's Reserve Desk.
Newbery Medal
The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Diverse BookFinder
A comprehensive collection of children's picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC). You can use the filters to identify titles by race/culture, ethnicity, gender, religion, or other criteria.
ADL Children's Literature
The Anti-Defamation League's online bibliography of recommended children’s and young adult books about bias, bullying, diversity and social justice. ADL’s collection includes excellent picture, chapter and young adult books, as well as their featured Books of the Month, which come with discussion guides for teachers and families.
Rainbow Book List
The Rainbow Book List is created by the Rainbow Book List Committee of the Rainbow Round Table of the American Library Association. Originally a joint project between the Rainbow Round Table (formerly Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table) and the Social Responsibilities Round Table, the Rainbow Book List presents an annual bibliography of quality books with significant and authentic LGBQTIA+ content, which are recommended for people from birth through eighteen years of age.
Rise Feminist Book Lists
Rise: A Feminist Book Project creates an annual booklist of the best feminist books for young readers, ages birth through 18. They are part of the Feminist Task Force of the Social Responsibilities Round Table of the American Library Association.
Graphic Novels Recommendations from Social Justice Books
Social Justice Books is a project of Teaching for Change. This is a critically reviewed selection of multicultural and social justice books for children, young adults, and educators.

Founders Library's Children's and YA Collection contains materials in a number of languages, such as Spanish, French, Ukrainian, and many others, as well as multilingual books.

To find non-English language titles in HuskieSearch, you could do a Subject Heading search. Example, Spanish language--Juvenile. Then, make sure to use the filter on the left side of the screen to limit by Location (NIU--Juvenile Collection--4th FL--Founders Library).

You can also search for a topic, then use the filters to narrow by languages.

You can also browse Children's and YA titles in a number of languages by typing in the term "ForLang" and then searching by Holding Call Number:

Then, if you wish, you can also narrow by specific Language using the filter on the left side of the screen.