Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Children's Literature: Web Resources

Selected Web Resources

Web Resources

Organizations

Children's Book Awards

Publishers

Periodicals

Individual Writers

Electronic Texts

Research Collections


Web Resources

  • A Gathering of Readers
  • Bookwire:The Electronic Children's Book Index
  • Children's Books Online: The Rosetta Project - This ongoing project contains some 2,000 antique illustrated children's books which were published in the 19th and early 20th century and aims to create an online library of approximately 65,000 html pages. Complete texts may be downloaded.
  • Children's Literature Web Guide - Based at the University of Calgary, this site features access to lists of award winning titles (including the Caldecott, Newbery, and a selection of those given by the American Library Association) discussion boards, bestsellers, teaching ideas, and links to research sources.
  • Greek Children's Literature - An academic page devoted to past and current Greek children's literature (not all available in English translation) as well as theoretical and critical works on children's literature published in Greece.
  • Guys Read - This website developed by children's author Jon Scieszka (The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales, Math Curse, and The True Story of the 3 Little Pigs) offers book suggestions that entice boys to read, and keep them reading.
  • International Children's Digital Library - Developed by the Internet Archive and the University of Maryland, features a multilingual, international collection of children's books. As of January 2018, the ICDL collection includes 4619 books in 59 languages.
  • More Diverse Books - Search for a book with a straight, white, male protagonist and get a number of alternative nooks with non-straight, non-white, non-male protagonists. The list of alternative books can be filtered by ethnicity, gender, and sexuality.  There is also a feature to browse by genre and to filter the books in each genre.
  • Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers - Recommendations by ALA's Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA)
  • The Children's Picture Book Database - Indexes abstracts of over 4,000 picture books for children. The database is designed as a tool for teachers creating literature based thematic units for all disciplines. Searchable by a set of over 900 topical keywords, organized alphabetically, or by discipline, or by a boolean combination of each.
  • The Purple Crayon - The only WWW site maintained by a children's book editor.
  • The Series Bookcase Information Links - This site has lists of series and titles for children's series such as Tom Swift, Nancy Drew and other classics.

Organizations

  • Young Adult Library Services Association - As part of the American Library Association, this organization focuses on blending technologies and resources to provide developmentally appropriate information services to the young adult population, defined as ages 12-18. Lists of noted books, award recipients and professional resources are provided.
  • International Board on Books for Young People
  • Children's Writing Resource Center - Presented by the Colorado based Children's Book Insider, a newsletter for authors, this detailed site is most useful to aspiring writers and anyone wishing to better understand the creative facet of children's book production.
  • Children's Literature Associations on the Internet - A lengthy list of those organizations active in the field of children's literature which have established a presence on the Internet.
  • Children's Book Council of Australia - First established in New South Wales in 1945, this group takes as its objective the encouragement of reading by children via provision of information to authors and illustrators, supporting children's librarianship and recognizing quality writing with the Australian Children's Book of the Year award. The most recent award-winning titles are listed.
  • Children's Book Council - Four sections oriented for parents, teachers/librarians, authors/illustrators, and booksellers comprise this site. The librarians section offers numerous bibliographies of fiction, non-fiction, and poetry for children. The Council is a non-profit trade organization of U.S. children's book publishers in existence since 1945.
  • Center for Children's Books (University of Illinois) - Founded in 1945 at the University of Illinois, the Center maintains an extensive collection of over 14,000 books representing some of the finest books published for children in the United States. Selected highlights from the current issue of the Center's journal The Bulletin, are included.
  • Association for Library Service to Children - The professional library organization responsible for the evaluation and selection of books and non book materials and the improvement of library services to children from preschool to junior high school age. A variety of links are available, the "Resources for Teachers" and "For Parents and Caregivers" sections are most general use. All major book awards in children's literature are included under "Awards and Notables."
  • American Association of School Librarians - A part of the American Library Association, this organization's areas of interest include the training of children's and young adult librarians, evaluating and selecting media for school libraries, serving as a professional forum for school librarians where issues of service and function can be raised. In addition data on Internet resources in children's literature and conferences, a link to the online full-text version of School Library Media Quarterly is provided.
  • Assembly on Literature for Adolescents (ALAN) - Founded in November 1973, this organization is a special interest group of the National Council of Teachers of English. Links to full-text copy of The ALAN Review (beginning with the winter 1994 issue) and a list of all recipients of the ALAN Award (given to outstanding individuals in the field of adolescent literature) since 1974 are included.
  • Center for the Study of Books in Spanish for Children and Adolescents
  • University of Wisconsin Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC)

Children's Book Awards

  • Randolph Caldecott Medal - The companion to the Newbery Award, begun in 1939 and awarded by the Association for Library Services to Children to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
  • John M. Newbery Medal - Given annually since 1929 by the Association for Library Service to Children to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
  • Hans Christian Andersen Medal - Given every two years since 1956 by the International Board on Books for Young People, this award recognizes the entire body of works of one author and one illustrator. Lists of all winners to 1996 are included.
  • The Hans Christian Andersen Exhibit
  • Coretta Scott King Award - Established in 1969 by the Social Responsibilities Round Table of the American Library Association, this award is given annually to an African-American author and illustrator who have made outstanding educational and inspirational contributions to the cause of peace and brotherhood. The illustrator's award was initiated in 1979. All winners in each category are listed.
  • Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards - Awarded annually since 1967, this prize recognizes both text and illustration. The full list of winners from 1967 to 1997 is provided.
  • Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature (DAWCL) - Searchable database containing over 13,000 records covering 154 children's book awards across six English-speaking countries: the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, England, and Ireland.  Can be used by teachers and librarians for lesson planning, collection development and to create tailored reading lists, and by parents and children themselves who wish identify quality children's literature.

Publishers

Periodicals

Individual Writers

  • Roald Dahl
  • Lewis Carroll Society of North America - A non-profit organization founded in 1974 dedicated to furthering Carroll studies and maintaining awareness of his creative legacy. Links to a variety of related pages are included.
  • Into the Wardrobe: The C.S. Lewis Website - Very comprehensive, this page covers biographies of the author, his biographies of literary works (fiction, non-fiction, and secondary sources), the full-text of speeches of both himself and persons important in his personal life and professional career. Further links and related topics are also indicated.
  • Horatio Alger, Jr. Resources - Content of this site vary from listings of those works of Alger available in full-text format (including some of his poetry), course syllabi and reading to his writings in the context of American studies, and special collections of these works. Users may be interested to know that Northern Illinois University's Library is now the official repository for the papers and archives of the Horatio Alger Society.
  • Hans Christian Andersen
  • Beyond Nancy Drew - A detailed and informative annotated bibliography of books for girls based on materials held in the Rare Books, Manuscripts and Special Collections Library of Duke University.

Electronic Texts

Research Collections

  • Library of Congress: Children's Book Selections

    This special collection presents children’s books selected from the General and Rare Book Collections at the Library of Congress. The collection includes classic works that are still read by children today, and lesser-known treasures drawn from the Library’s extensive collection of historically significant children’s books. The books in this collection were published in the United States and England before 1924, are no longer under copyright, and free to read, share, and reuse however you’d like.Highlights of the collection include examples of the work of American illustrators such as W.W. Denslow, Peter Newell, and Howard Pyle, as well as works by renowned English illustrators Randolph Caldecott, Walter Crane, and Kate Greenaway.

  • Pound Collection of Australian Children's Literature - Housed in the Rare Books Collection of the State Library of Victoria in Melbourne, the key resource to Australian children's literature and its study numbers more than 25,000 items. An essay on the development of writing for children in Australia may be found by following the links to the "Children's Literature Collections" page of the State Library.
  • The Elizabeth Nesbitt Room: A Goodly Heritage - Housed at the University of Pittsburgh, this room is named for one of the major figures in storytelling and children's literature in the twentieth century, and contains over 12,000 books and articles dating from the 1600's to contemporary times. Profiles of special holdings such as the chapbook collection, the Illustrators Project (covering the nineteenth and twentieth centuries) and the Mister Rogers Neighborhood Archives are included.
  • The de Grummond Children's Literature Collection at USM - Initiated in 1966 at the University of Southern Mississippi, this collection reaches from 1530 to the present and features contributions by over 1,200 illustrators and authors of original manuscripts, drawings, completed books and other items. Access to the contents is available through a link with the USM OSCAR catalog. Researchers will find the "Highlights of the Collection" section a useful starting point.
  • Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature (University of Florida) - Over 93,000 volumes published in the United States and Great Britain from the early 1700's to the 1970s. The holdings of over 800 titles printed in North America prior to 1821 makes it the second largest such collection in the U.S.
  • Looking Glass for the Mind: 350 Years of Books for Children
  • Renier Collection of Historic and Contemporary Publications for Children - A branch of the Victoria and Albert Museum, the Museum of Childhood is home to the Renier Collection, the largest such special collection of children's literature in the United Kingdom. Its contents include toys, games, and printed ephemera as well as 80,000 books, the earliest, a 1585 edition of Aesop's Fables in Latin and Greek.
  • The Kerlan Collection (University of Minnesota) - 65,000 books (primarily by twentieth-century American writers), illustrations and manuscript materials for 8,700 titles, and over three hundred periodical titles.
  • The Weaver Collection (University of North Texas) - Containing primary works published between 1880 and the 1920's, this highly varied collection has major strengths in educational books, fairy tales, folk tales, famous illustrators and authors, works about the history of children's literature, and miniature books. Additional seventeenth-century chapbooks, a first edition in English of Grimm's fairy tales (1822) and movable and pop-up books have been added. Access is available through the University of North Texas online catalog.

Subject Specialist