Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Computer Science: Core Databases

Core Article Databases

Academic Search Complete

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library (ACM DL)

Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library (ACM DL). The database comprehends the publications (except books) of the ACM. The latter touts itself as the worlds leading educational and scientific computing society.

Compendex and EI Village

A comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature covering 5000 engineering journals and professional conferences in applied science. Coverage begins in 1970 and is updated weekly. Subject areas treated include chemical and process engineering, applied physics, computers, data processing, electronics and communication.

IEEE Xplore

The database features full text access from 1998 on to a substantial portion of the society journals published in conjunction with IEEE and IEE. It also offers indexing and abstracting access to a variety of other publication including journals, proceedings, standards and books. A recent addition to NIU offerings is the IEEE - Wiley eBooks Library which includes a slate of more than 400 titles and extends up to 2010 publication date.

INSPEC

Inspec is the world's leading bibliographic database providing comprehensive global coverage of scientific and technical literature in the fields of physics, electrical engineering, electronics and computer science. Inspec contains over 8 million records dating from 1969 and draws upon 3,000 scientific and technical journals and 2,000 conference proceedings for coverage.

MathSci Net

The major indexing and abstracting service for mathematical sciences and its applications. It covers the literature of mathematics since 1940. Abstracts Only.

Science Direct

Science Direct provides access to the full text of more than 320 journals published by Elsevier Science. Articles are generally available from 1995 forward. Please note that Northern does not subscribe to all of the journals within Science Direct.

SpringerLink

NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Springer journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and a column on the right side of the homepage offers a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,946 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.

Web of Science

The database allows access to both the Science and Social Sciences Citation Indexes. One can locate not only specific articles, but more important explore how specific articles have been treated by the literature in their respective fields. The backfile extends to 1965.

Wiley Online Library

NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Wiley journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and the top of the homepage features a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,785 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.