Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Skip navigation

Deeds not Words: Women and the Vote: Sights & Sounds of the Struggle

Digital Exhibit on Women's Suffrage & Voting

Selling Suffrage: Images of the Fight for the Vote

Harris & Ewing. "Woman Suffrage, Advertising Parade." 1913. Harris & Ewing Collection. Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division.

"Inez Milholland Boissevain, wearing white cape, seated on white horse at the National American Woman Suffrage Association parade," March 3, 1913, Washington, D.C. Bain News Service. 913. George Grantham Bain Collection. Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division.

Single panel cartoon, drawn in the style of the decoration on a Greek vase, shows Susan B. Anthony, clad in flowing garments, poking a startled man in the chest with an umbrella. She is followed by other women, one carrying a sign reading, "We Want Our Rights."

Rea Irvin, "We Want Our Rights."  (1913). Originally published in Life, v. 61, no. 1582 (February 20). Art Wood Collection of Caricature and Cartoon. Library of Congress.

The National American Woman Suffrage Association began a postcard campaign in 1910, partly to raise awareness of the cause and partly as a fundraiser. The cards could be funny, serious, or sentimental. Some employed powerful patriotic symbols and logical arguments to make their case for woman’s right to vote.

Votes for Women Postcard. National Woman Suffrage Publishing Company Incorporated (1915). National Museum of American History,

WSPU leaders Annie Kenney (left) and Christabel Pankhurst (right). Kaldari. Wikimedia Commons. 1 June 2018.

Ehrhart, S. D. (1909) Shall Women Vote? / Ehrhart., 1909. N.Y.: Published by Keppler & Schwarzmann, Puck Building. Library of Congress prints and Photographs Division.

Fighting Back: The Campaign Against Equality

Photograph shows men looking at material posted in the window of the National Anti-Suffrage Association headquarters; sign in window reads "Headquarters National Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage".

Harris & Ewing, photographer. (1911) National Anti-Suffrage Association. Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division.

 

Women's Anti-Suffrage Association of Massachusetts. (1915) The Anti-Suffrage Rose: Song. [Boston: Women's Anti-Suffrage Association, ©] [Notated Music]. Library of Congress.

Currier & Ives. (1869) The Age of Brass. Or the Triumphs of Woman's Rights., 1869. [New York: Currier & Ives]. Library of Congress. 

Moving Image & The Movement: Contemporary Films on Suffrage

“Suffragettes, 1910's - Film 19738.” Huntley Film Archives. YouTube.

“Nov 18, 1910 - Suffragette Riot in Westminster, London.” Guy Jones. YouTube. December 1, 2018.

“1911-1913: Views of the 'Suffragette Days' in London.” Guy Jones. YouTube. April 11, 2016.

"UK Suffragettes in HD, 1910s Protest March, Votes for Women." Kinolibrary Archive Film Collections. YouTube. February 6, 2018.

Miller, A (Director). (1912). "A Suffragette in Spite of Himself." Edison Company. Neal Caren. YouTube

She's Good Enough to Vote with You: The Soundtrack of the Suffragettes

78 Victor Record of Since my Margaret become a suffragette

Edwards, G. C., Burkhart, M. V. & Cobb, W. D.:. L. (1912) Since my Margaret become a suffragette. [Audio]. Library of Congress. 

Caution: This song contains material that may be offensive to some listeners.

Hawn, Z. S.:. C. & Victor Military Band: Musical Group. (1914) Fall in Line. [Audio] Retrieved from the Library of Congress,

   

Wingate, J. (1921) The Woman Suffrage Blues. [New York City: Knickerbocker Harmony Studios, ©] [Notated Music] Retrieved from the Library of Congress. 

In Her Own Words: Recordings of Suffragettes

Other Digital Exhibits on Suffrage

"Creating a Female Political Culture"—National Women's History Museum (US)

"The League of Women Voters: The Legacy of Suffrage"—Special Collections & Archives, University of Baltimore

"Rightfully Hers: American Women and the Vote"—National Archives (US)

Rights for Women: The Suffrage Movement and its Leaders,”—National Women's History Museum (US)

"Shall Not Be Denied: Women Fight for the Vote"—The Library of Congress (US)

"Standing Up for Change"—National Women's History Museum (US)

"Women's Suffrage"National Museum of Australia 

Women & Voting: A Playlist

Mark Lause. March of the Women. YouTube. 2010.

Dame Ethel Smyth wrote the March of the Women (1911) for the Women's Social and Political Union, the leading organization of the suffragists in Britain.The graphics are in the public domain, and the performance is that of the Rainbow Chorus from May 2009.

Songs of the Suffragettes - a collection of songs sung by Elisabeth Knight (1958)

Sufferin'Till Suffrage - Etta James performed on the 1998 Schoolhouse Rocks the Vote album.

A 2012  adaptation of Lady Gaga's Bad Romance for Women's Suffrage (Inspired by Alice Paul)

Suffragette -Best Movie Soundtrack in (2015) -Theme Song

"Time's up"  a Modern Suffragettes Song  (2018)  produced by  John Caldwell & Kalie Shorr , video by Todd Cassetty/Quinton Cook/Helena Capps 

WNYC Studios, 27: The Most Perfect Album | Dolly Parton | 19th Amendment (MUSIC VIDEO). YouTube. September 17, 2018.

Voting on Video: Films on Suffrage

Suffragette is a 2015 drama on women's suffrage in the United Kingdom.

Starring: Carey Mulligan, Helena Bonham Carter, Brendan Gleeson

Director: Sarah Gavron

NIU Patrons: Request through I-Share.

Mary Poppins is a 1964 comedy/musical comedy. A subplot features suffragettes and the song, "Sister Suffragette."

Starring: Julie Andrews, Dick Van Dyke, David Tomlinson 

Director: Robert Stevenson

NIU Patrons: Request through I-Share.