Best Bet A nonprofit organization committed to improving student access to quality learning materials. Free textbooks are developed and peer-reviewed by educators to ensure they are readable, accurate, and meet the scope and sequence requirements of your course.
Best Bet The B.C. Open Textbook Collection is home to a growing selection of open textbooks for a variety of subjects and specialties. Discover open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty, meet our accessibility requirements, and/or include ancillary materials (quizzes, test banks, slides, videos, etc.).
A website which has a database of various Open Educational Resources based online textbooks which are freely available for use by you and by your students.
A curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
Danish company that publishes educational material for students and business professionals. Includes approximately 800 free e-Textbooks in 7 languages in PDF format. Main focus is business and economics, engineering and natural sciences and IT.
Index to the online textbooks in MIT OpenCourseWare. Some online textbooks are open-licensed electronic versions of print books. Others are self-published online books, or course notes which are so thorough that they serve as an alternative to a conventional textbook.
Best Bet The first provider of free eBooks, provides access to over 33,000 books which may be downloaded as HTML, simple text formats, or to a variety of portable devices.
Best Bet Over 1.5 million digitized video clips, including cartoons, commercials and classic films. Many of these sources are in the public domain or available via Creative Commons.
Best Bet Thousand of videos on a wide variety of topics and subjects directed toward K-12 learners and teachers; it also includes materials appropriate for first-year college students. Not OER, but free to watch and use in classes.
The National Screening Room showcases the riches of the Library's vast moving image collection, designed to make otherwise unavailable movies, both copyrighted and in the public domain, accessible to the viewers worldwide. The majority of titles in the National Screening Room are freely available as both 5 mb MP4 and ProRes 422 MOV/Quicktime downloads.
A repository of open access digitized videos for education and learning developed by the Interaction Design Laboratory at the School of Information and Library Science, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill.
A collection of Creative Commons licensed videos that you can share, rework, and resuse.
Note that many of the resources below include content that is in the public domain or use Creative Commons licenses. While attribution may not be required, consider giving credit whenever possible so that others may find these collections.
Free stock photography featuring disabled BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, people of color), varied body sizes/types, sexual orientations, and gender identities in the Pacific Northwest. Licensed CC BY 4.0
Best Bet A digital repository of images from European cultural heritage institutions. Most resources are public domain, but check the license of individual items for reuse.
Millions of user-uploaded photographs. To search for reusable images, go to ”Advanced Search” and choose the type of license needed (e.g. "Any license," "Creative Common license") from the pull-down menu.
Browse over 300000 free stock photos and find the perfect royalty-free image quickly. Download free, high quality stock images, for every day or commercial use.
The world's quirkiest collection of free high-resolution pictures you can use on your personal and commercial projects. All completely free of copyright restrictions
Best Bet More than 180,000 items in the NY Public Library Digital Collections are in the public domain. To find them, simply limit your search results to show only public domain materials.
Campus partners can browse photographs and access images with the Asset Request feature in Canto. An account administrator from Institutional Communications will approve the request within 2-3 business days. The previous image library is still available at: http://images.media.niu.edu/.
Best Bet Contains over 170,000 of medical, biomedical, and social history images, both historical and contemporary. All images are available for use under a Creative Commons license.
Selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
Hosted by Vanderbilt University, the Global Music Archive is a resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americans. Active collections include East African recordings and the Appalachian Dulcimer Archive.
A collection of audio, including animal sounds, old time radio shows, sound effects and music. Select those with a Creative Commons license if you wish to reuse.
More than 350,000 free music tracks licensed under Creative Commons, all available for streaming and unlimited download. Check the Creative Commons license of individual work for reuse.
The Jukebox includes recordings from the collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
This online resource features streaming music audio, live concerts on demand, studio sessions, interviews and profiles of musical artists, and news, reviews, and blogs about all things musical.
On this social sound platform for creating and sharing music and sounds, many items are licensed with Creative Commons. To search for items that allow reuse, after a search, filter the search results by "To share," or "To modify."
Lifelong learning and professional development for educators go hand-in-hand with Canvas Network's open, online courses, taught by experts and institutions worldwide.
Jointly owned by The Open University and SEEK Ltd., FutureLearn offers a diverse selection of short courses, programs, microcredentials, and degrees from top universities and institutions across the globe.
Discover free online courses taught by Harvard University. Watch videos, do assignments, earn a certificate while learning from some of the best Professors.
Free online courses provide an affordable and flexible way to learn new skills and study new and emerging topics from Stanford instructors and industry experts at no cost to you.
Best Bet While not a search engine, this provides access to search services provided by other organizations, such as Wikimedia Commons, Flikr, and Jamendo.
A curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
