World Languages & Cultures: Home

A massive index and abstracting service focused on the subject areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the index is international in scope, and incorporates both periodicals and books. Coverage is 1963 to the present. Abstracts Only.

HAPI online--Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) comprehends approximately 300,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
HAPI currently provides over 100,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.

The database represents the largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the United States during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive online collection features hundreds of fully searchable Hispanic American newspapers, and delivers a diversity of unabridged voices, ranging from intellectuals and literary notables to politicians, union organizers and grassroots figures.

Contains nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds on non-fiction prose and technical writing. Includes 18th, 19th, and 20th century works, with a smaller selection of 17th century texts and some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. In most cases scholarly editions were used, and the data contain page references to these editions. Full Text.

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.