LibGuides: Fashion Merchandising: FSMD 466

Online Resources

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. (This database is partially funded by NIU College of Business.)

CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Doing Business
The World Bank provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 178 countries. [External Environment, Business Relevant-Country Specific Information, Market Analysis, Workforce/Personnel, Infrastructure]
Country Commercial Guides
Export.gov brings together resources from across the U.S. Government to assist American businesses in planning their international sales strategies and succeed in today’s global marketplace.” At the home page look to the right under “I Want To” and select “find country information”, “find tariff rates”, etc. [External Environment, Business Relevant-Country Specific Information]
Global Edge
Click on the name of the country you wish to research. The first page provides an “Introduction”. Scroll down to the list of “Quick Links”. Click on “country name: Country Commercial Guide”. Download this guide for an extensive description of doing business in your country. [External Environment, Business Relevant-Country Specific Information, Market Analysis, Workforce/Personnel, Infrastructure]

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista — a leading provider of market and consumer data which consolidates statistics and narrative reports on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.

World Bank: Open Data
Free and open access to global development data. Use to find the percentage of Internet users in a country.

In this tutorial you’ll learn how to use Business Source Complete to find industry, market, and company information.

In this tutorial you’ll learn how to use Statista to find market information.