Economics: Home

This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. (This database is partially funded by NIU College of Business.)

This database, produced by the American Economic Association, is the premier bibliographic index to economic literature. It indexes journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations and conference proceedings. Includes partial full-text.

NBER researchers initially report their findings in scientific papers aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government, and the business media around the world. Nearly 500 NBER Working Papers are published each year, and many subsequently appear in scholarly journals.

The Social Science Research Network (SSRN)--is a vast repository of working papers and papers accepts (articles, book chapters, and other published items), constituting nearly 600,000 abstracts, 500,000 full-text papers, and 300,000 authors. The site is presently divided into 24 major topical research networks, ranging from accounting to sustainability. The materials come mostly from the fields of economics, business, and law, but SSRN is expanding its scope to include the humanities (classics, literature, music, philosophy, and rhetoric, thus far). Although the vast bulk of the material is open access, there is a commercial component with articles or ebook chapters from various publishers available for a fee.

Established in 1962, ICPSR is an active partner in social science research and instruction throughout the world. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Individual data sets--which number in the thousands--cover a broad array of disciplines ranging from Political Science and Economics to Education, Geography, Health, and Sociology. Downloading of data files requires a onetime registration.

This unrivaled online library offers instant access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the eve of World War I. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections — the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School — along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University.

Equip students and faculty with access to thousands of e-books dedicated to the study of business.