America: History and Life - Provides citations to articles from over 2,100 journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. Coverage is 1982 to the present and is updated three times per year. Abstracts Only.
CQ Researcher - CQ Researcher--provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. The backfile for the database extends to 1923.
ebrary Academic Complete - This electronic book package includes more than 70,000 individual texts covering a broad array of academic disciplines. The database boasts a distinguished set of publishers including such university presses as Oxford, Cambridge, Princeton, Harvard, etc. The content of the database is well paired with an advanced set of tools that allows for expansive searching capabilities, and manipulation and storage of text.
JSTOR - An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.
ProQuest Digital Dissertations - ProQuest Digital Dissertations-- Provides bibliographic citations, and full-text access for doctoral dissertations and master's thesis completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide.
PsycInfo - Compiled by the American Psychological Association, contains indexes, journal articles, chapters in books and entire books on psychology and related fields. Covering 1,300 journals in 27 languages, it also provides abstracts. Coverage is 1887 to the present. PsychInfo is on OVID. Some Full Text.
Reference Universe - Reference Universe--contains 35 million data elements to over 45,000 specialized reference works. The elements are matched to NIU's electronic and print holdings, offering a customized view of local reference materials.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research - Data held by the Roper Center furnishes a valuable resource across the entire spectrum of the social sciences. The database comprehends more than 400,000 survey questions and 10,000 data sets. The data has been culled from many leading survey research organizations such as the Gallup Organization, and the Harvard School of Public Health. In addition to national polls there is also a significant international representation.
Sociological Abstracts - Includes indexes and abstracts for articles in sociology and related disciplines in 20,000 journals in 30 different languages. Doctoral dissertations and book reviews are also included. Includes some full text. Coverage is 1963 to the present.
Web of Knowledge - Combines the acclaimed Science and Social Sciences Citation Indexes (1987 to the present) with additional databases including BIOSIS Previews (1969 to the present), Current Contents (1998 to the present), and Medline (1950 to the present). The database offers a powerful and versatile research platform as well as search and analysis tools that enhance its scholarly value.
Library of Congress - As the national library of the United States, this collection offers researchers a chance to sample what has been published in the subfields of sociology on an international scale. Some of the special collections are full -text.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service ( NCJRS ) - Established in 1972, NCJRS offers access to substance abuse and justice information on a worldwide level.
PollingReport.com - A searchable database which tracks trends in American public opinion on current issues.
THOMAS - Based at the Library of Congress, this resource allows access to the full text of bills being considered in the House and Senate, the Congressional Record, and the U.S. Code.
UNESCO Database of Non-Governmental Organizations - The Section for Non-Governmental Organizations – Sector for External Relations and Cooperation of UNESCO has entrusted the Union of International Associations with the creation and maintenance of a customized Database of Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs), foundations and similar partner institutions. The database is freely accessible, and contains the fully searchable profiles in English and in French of the above mentioned organizations, as well as the contact details of their institutional members.
The World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO) is an international organization uniting NGOs worldwide in the cause of advancing peace and global well being.
