Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Scholarly Articles/Criticism
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is the largest database of educational resources and research in the world, containing over 1.8 million journal articles, conference papers, official reports, theses, etc. Coverage is 1996 to present. Full Text.
Inter-Play This link opens in a new window
An index to plays in anthologies, collections, and periodicals. Updated bi-monthly. Abstracts Only.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theater & Dance, represents the most comprehensive multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool available to theater students, educators and professionals. Since 1984, the Theater Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. These volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theater and performance in 126 countries.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
The database represents a composite of five long standing series--Children's Literature Review, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Shakespearean Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Each of the series can be searched separately or altogether. The net result is that tens of thousands of essays are readily available online.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A massive index and abstracting service focused on the subject areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the index is international in scope, and incorporates both periodicals and books. Coverage is 1963 to the present. Abstracts Only.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text, full image of nearly 100 scholarly journals from Johns Hopkins Press and other scholarly publishers. Provides searching of full text
across all journals in the database, selected journal titles, or in just a single title. Allows searching of table of contents of articles and book reviews by author and title
as well as by Library of Congress subject headings. Full Text.