LibGuides: Earth Atmosphere and Environment : Home

About This Page

This page lists the top recommended databases for Earth Atmosphere and Environment subjects. A database is a searchable collection of articles, books, and other resources you usually can’t find on Google.

Choose a database below to get started.

Recommended Databases for Geography

Agricola (EBSCO)
From the National Agricultural Library. Some full text. Agriculture and related fields. Includes: journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports.
CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher--provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. The backfile for the database extends to 1923.
GeoRef (ProQuest)
Established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, this database provides access to the geosciences literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 60,000 references a year. The database contains over 1.8 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Coverage dates from 1795 for North America and 1933 for outside North America. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered. Abstracts Only.

Open Access Databases

Arctic Science and Technology Information System
The Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS) database contains over 51,000 records describing publications and research projects about northern Canada. ASTIS is maintained by the Arctic Institute of North America at the University of Calgary, and is part of the Canadian Polar Information Network.
THOMAS
Based at the Library of Congress, this resource allows access to the full text of bills being considered in the House and Senate, the Congressional Record, and the U.S. Code.

Recommended Databases for Geology

GeoRef (ProQuest)
Established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, this database provides access to the geosciences literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 60,000 references a year. The database contains over 1.8 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Coverage dates from 1795 for North America and 1933 for outside North America. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered. Abstracts Only.
Environment Complete (EBSCO)
This full-text database offers extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Offering full text and indexing for journals, books and monographs, it is an invaluable resource for students and scholars across all environmental disciplines.
GPO Monthly Catalog (FirstSearch)
Covers over 380,000 documents published by the U.S. government and its agencies. Virtually limitless subject in which there is federal government involvement. Coverage is 1976 to the present. GPO Monthly Catalog is on FirstSearch. Abstracts Only.
GreenFILE (EBSCO)
The database offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records.

Department Links

Earth Atmosphere and Environment

Subject Specialist

Robert Ridinger

Email Me

Contact:

268A Founders Memorial Library, Northern Illinois University, De Kalb, IL 6015-2868.

Subjects: African American Studies, Anthropology, Earth, Atmosphere and Environment, Health and Human Sciences, Latino and Latin American Studies, LGBT Studies, Sociology

Web Resource guides for

Subject Specialist

Meredith Ayers

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Founders Memorial Library 304A
815-753-1872
mayers@niu.edu

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Earth, Atmosphere and Environment, Education, Environmental Studies

Library QuickLinks

Huskie Search (Library Catalog)
Find books in the Northern Illinois University Libraries, or search the holdings of 76 libraries throughout the state
Chat with a Librarian
Interlibrary Loan
Request articles and books that aren't available at the University Libraries
Citation Help