Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Regional History Center and University Archives: Home

Regional History Center and University Archives Staff

Director/University Archivist (vacant)

Curator of Manuscripts (vacant)

Assistant University Archivist (vacant)

Archive Specialist (vacant)

Interested in Making a Gift?

If you would like to make a gift to the Regional History Center and University Archives, there are lots of ways to do that.

Our Regional Collections and University Archives pages explains what kinds of records and collections we are interested in.

Gifting digital materials? This guide may help.

To make a monetary donation, please contact the Director for more details.

See our FAQs page for more information regarding donations.

Sample Documents for Donors

Hours and Location

Welcome to the Regional History Center, a unique component of NIU’s commitment to education, research, and public service. The Center’s mission is to acquire, preserve, and make available to the public the most significant historical records of the Northern Illinois region. We actively collect from the eighteen northern counties of Illinois excluding Cook County. Since 1977 the Center has grown into a multifaceted research center which houses three related sets of record collections: University Archives, Regional Collections, and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (local government records).

Like Us on Facebook

Social Media Links

Please find us on your favorite social media site!