Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the NIU University Libraries subject guide for Philosophy! Please use the tabs above to find relevant resources. If you have any questions, please contact the subject specialist, Wendell Johnson.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Philosophy is designed to provide authoritative guidance. In contrast to print bibliographies and electronic indexes that simply list citations, this innovative online reference tool will combine the best features of a high-level encyclopedia and the best features of a traditional bibliography put together in a style that responds to the way people do research online.
Philosophers Index This link opens in a new window
A premier indexing and abstracting service in the areas of aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic and metaphysics. In addition, there is broad coverage of related
interdisciplinary fields such as philosophy of science, history, law, etc. Coverage is 1940 to the present. Abstracts Only.