Nursing: Articles and Databases

Also known as Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINAHL), the database provides citations to articles, new books and pamphlets, audiovisual materials, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice and educational software. Material from librarianship, biomedicine, management, health sciences, education and consumer health journals are also included.

An immense database produced by the National Library of Medicine. International coverage of more than 3,500 journals covering all areas of biomedical research. Coverage is 1965 to the present.

Provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.

Cochrane Library--is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Cochrane Methodology Register
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
Health Technology Assessment Database
NHS Economic Evaluation Database
About The Cochrane Collaboration

Provides over 520 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 560 journals. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is part of the Ebsco family of databases.

Full-text companion to the MEDLINE index, providing medical professionals and researchers unparalleled access to 2,500 active full-text journals, including numerous top biomedical publications.

Mometrix eLibrary provides test prep resources for over 1500 different standardized exams including: ILTS, CPA, DAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, NCE, TOEFL, and VTNE, and a wide range of career exams for the teaching, medical, construction, fitness, public service, and finance fields. Test prep resources include: practice tests, flashcards, videos, and study guides aimed to match the official tests.

Cabells, formerly known as Cabell's Directories, is the complete source for journal information, evaluation metrics, and submission details for universities and its scholars. NIU is subscribed to 3 sets, Business, Education, and Health and Nursing Journalytics. Each journal entry offers contact information, manuscript and submission guidelines, acceptance rates, and other actionable metrics to support informed decisions when preparing your manuscript for submission to a publication.

Produced by the National Institute of Health and the National Library of Medicine the database furnishes clear and authoritative consumer information on individual pharmaceuticals and supplements.

The database offers a convenient searchable collection of more than eighty prominent nursing and allied health titles.

Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 165 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men's Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Health Source: Consumer Edition is part of the Ebsco family of databases.

Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews is a fully searchable abstract database covering the latest information on all issues related to food and health - from food composition and safety to obesity, parenteral nutrition and allergies. NARA features all aspects of human nutrition, including:
• Techniques
• Foods
• Physiology and Biochemistry
• Nutrition and Health
• Clinical Nutrition
The database is combined with Review of Plant Pathology. In order to limit the search strictly to Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews one must select the title from a drop down menu at the bottom of the "Advanced" search page.

An immense database produced by the National Library of Medicine. International coverage of more than 3,500 journals covering all areas of biomedical research. Some Full Text. Coverage is 1965 to the present. Medline is on FirstSearch.

With over 3 million resources, Education Source is one of the largest databases of educational research in the world.

With over 1.8 million journal articles, official reports, and other educational research resources, ERIC is the most popular database for Education research. A free version of ERIC is available at https://eric.ed.gov/

Over 4 million indexes, journal articles, chapters in books and entire books on psychology and related fields compiled by the American Psychological Association. Coverage: 1887-present. PsychInfo is on OVID. Some Full Text.

Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. Scopus quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools. Be confident in progressing research, teaching or research direction and priorities — all from one database and with one subscription.

Science Direct provides access to the full text of more than 320 journals published by Elsevier Science. Articles are generally available from 1995 forward. Please note that Northern does not subscribe to all of the journals within Science Direct.

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Over 200,00 full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated publishers. Coverage: 1894-present.

An extremely diverse collection of more than 27,000 journal titles. The database contains both full-text and abstracts.

An index of articles from nearly 12,500 journals addressing all academic areas. Coverage is 1990 to the present. ArticleFirst is in First Search. Some Full Text.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations-- Provides bibliographic citations, and full-text access for doctoral dissertations and master's thesis completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations and Theses @ Northern Illinois University--The database represents a subset of Dissertation Abstracts focused exclusively on dissertations and theses penned at Northern Illinois University. Although not complete, full-text is available for the bulk of the materials submitted to the NIU Graduate College.

The collection comprehends forty-one premium reference titles from the largest nursing organization in the United States.

Illinois' statewide library consortia--CARLI--recently purchased Springer publishing's collection of more than 2,000 medical books in electronic format. The extensive list of English language titles covers all medical fields and extends from 2005 to the present.

Ebook Central -- This electronic book package includes more than 150,000 individual texts covering a vast array of academic subjects and disciplines. The database boasts a distinguished set of publishers including such university presses as Oxford, Cambridge, Princeton, Harvard, etc. The content of the database is well paired with an advanced set of tools that allows for expansive searching capabilities, and manipulation and storage of text.

Is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.

This database represents a collection of more than sixty recent reference works published by Sage. The volumes can be searched either individually or collectively. As a group the titles cover a wide swath of social science and allied health fields.