LibGuides: Mechatronics: Home

Databases - Core One

Compendex and EI Village
A comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature covering 5000 engineering journals and professional conferences in applied science. Coverage begins in 1970 and is updated weekly. Subject areas treated include chemical and process engineering, applied physics, computers, data processing, electronics and communication.
IEEE Xplore
The database features full text access to scientific and technical content from 1998 on to IEEE Society-sponsored journals, transactions, and magazines. A recent addition to NIU offerings is the IEEE - Wiley eBooks Library, which includes a slate of more than 400 titles and extends up to 2012 publication date.
Scopus
Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. Scopus quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools. Be confident in progressing research, teaching or research direction and priorities — all from one database and with one subscription.
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Digital Journals
Founded in 1880 as the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, ASME is the premier professional membership organization for more than 127,000 mechanical engineers and associated members worldwide. ASME also conducts one of the world's largest technical
Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library (ACM DL)
Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library (ACM DL). The database comprehends the publications (except books) of the ACM. The latter touts itself as the worlds leading educational and scientific computing society.
MathSciNet
The major indexing and abstracting service for mathematical sciences and its applications. It covers the literature of mathematics since 1940. Abstracts Only.
PubMed
An immense database produced by the National Library of Medicine. International coverage of more than 3,500 journals covering all areas of biomedical research. Coverage is 1965 to the present.

Homeland Security Certificate

Other Databases

SciFinder
A bibliographic database containing citations from Chemical Abstracts (1907 to present), MEDLINE (1958 to present), and Methods Now. Tools available include PatentPak, Predictive Retrosynthesis, and BLAST for protein and nucleotide searching. Journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, and technical reports are among the types of records provided. The Registry database (1947 to present) provides access to descriptions of specific chemical substances, structure diagrams, names, molecular formulas, and more. The new web based version of SciFinderⁿ requires registration. Two important points to keep in mind concerning registration:
1. The proprietors of the database require an email address that contains the "niu.edu" domain.
2. Any other type of email address will be rejected.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
ProQuest Digital Dissertations-- Provides bibliographic citations, and full-text access for doctoral dissertations and master's thesis completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide.
Wiley Online Library
NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Wiley journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and the top of the homepage features a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,785 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify relevant material across the world of scholarly research.
Science Direct
Science Direct provides access to the full text of more than 320 journals published by Elsevier Science. Articles are generally available from 1995 forward. Please note that Northern does not subscribe to all of the journals within Science Direct.
SpringerLink
NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Springer journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and a column on the right side of the homepage offers a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,946 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.

CiteSeerX
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
SPIE digital library
SAE Mobilus
AIAA Aerospace Research Central
One Petro
The online library of technical literature for the oil and gas industry

Top Journals

Search bibliographic content these journals in from Databases - Core One such as Scopus,, Compendex; IEEE Xplore, ASME digital collection; and ACM digital library.

Applied Mechanics and Materials, Scitec Publications Ltd., Switzerland

Advanced Materials Research, Trans Tech Publications, Switzerland

IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, IEEE, USA

Mechatronics, Elsevier, UK

Solid State Phenomena, Scientific.net, Switzerland

Key Engineering Materials, Trans Tech Publications, Switzerland

Lecture Notes in Computer Science (Including Subseries Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence and Lecture Notes in Bioinformatics), Springer Verlag, Germany

Diffusion and Defect Data Pt. B: Solid State Phenomena, Aedermannsdorf, Switzerland

Journal of Robotics and Mechatronics, Fuji Technology Press, Japan

Lecture Notes in Electrical Engineering, Springer Verlag, Germany

Sensors, Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute, Switzerland

Romanian Review Precision Mechanics, Optics and Mechatronics, Institutul de Cercetara-Dezvoltare Pentru Mecatronica si Tehnical Masurarii (INCDTM), Romania

Advances in Intelligent Systems and Computing, Springer Verlag, Germany

Advances in Intelligent Systems and Computing, Springer Nature, Switzerland

Communications in Computer and Information Science, Springer Verlag, Germany

Mechanisms and Machine Science, Springer Nature, Switzerland

Guofang Keji Daxue Xuebao, National Univ. of Defense Technology, China

Jixie Gongcheng Xuebao/Journal of Mechanical Engineering, China Machine Press, China

Procedia Engineering, Elsevier, UK

IEEE Transactions on Magnetics, IEEE, USA

SubJect Guide

Nestor Osorio

Email ME

Contact:

Founders Library 304B

815-753-9837

nosorio@niu.edu

Subjects:

Computer Science, Engineering and Engineering Technology, Mathematics and Statistics, Physics and Astronomy.

Additional Information

For more specific information from particular related subjects follow the links below.