Welcome to the NIU University Libraries subject guide for Mathematics and Statistics. Please use the tabs above to find other relevant resources. If you have any questions, please contact the subject specialist, Nestor Osorio, at NOsorio@niu.edu.
The major indexing and abstracting service for mathematical sciences and its applications. It covers the literature of mathematics since 1940. Abstracts Only.
Eight periodicals issued by the Society (including its, Bulletin and Transactions, and Journal as well as specialized works on conformal geometry, computation, electronic research and representation theory) comprise this database. Beginning dates of publication range from 1992 to 1998. Full Text.
Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. Scopus quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools. Be confident in progressing research, teaching or research direction and priorities — all from one database and with one subscription.
The Current Index to Statistics (CIS) is a bibliographic index of publications in statistics, probability, and related fields. It includes data from approximately 160 core journals, 1,200 additional journals in related fields, and 11,000 books. The bulk of the content in CIS is from 1975-2017.
CIS was developed by the Institute of Mathematical Statistics and the American Statistical Association.
zbMATH Open (formerly known as Zentralblatt MATH) is the world's most comprehensive and longest-running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. It is edited by the European Mathematical Society (EMS), the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, and FIZ Karlsruhe. It contains around 5 million bibliographic entries with reviews or abstracts from more than 5,000 journals and book series, and some 200,000 books. The coverage is from 1868 to the present day.
Is a comprehensive abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. Forerunner of Mathematical Reviews coverage extends from 1931 until 1972. The index is reproduced by section in PDF format and therefore is not searchable as a database.
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
With over 1.8 million journal articles, official reports, and other educational research resources, ERIC is the most popular database for Education research. A free version of ERIC is available at https://eric.ed.gov/
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify relevant material across the world of scholarly research.
Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library (ACM DL). The database comprehends the publications (except books) of the ACM. The latter touts itself as the worlds leading educational and scientific computing society.
Science Direct provides access to the full text of more than 320 journals published by Elsevier Science. Articles are generally available from 1995 forward. Please note that Northern does not subscribe to all of the journals within Science Direct.
NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Wiley journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and the top of the homepage features a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,785 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.
NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Springer journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and a column on the right side of the homepage offers a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,946 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.
