Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Core Article Databases
Academic Search Complete
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media.
American Film Scripts Online
This edition of American Film Scripts Online (AFSO) contains 265 scripts by 334 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts.
When complete, the collection will include more than 1,000 scripts and over 100,000 scenes of life as portrayed in the movies.
Film Literature Index
FLI annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews. Coverage 1976-2001.
MLA International Bibliography
A massive index and abstracting service focused on the subject areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the index is international in scope, and incorporates both periodicals and books. Coverage is 1963 to the present. Abstracts Only.
Academic Video Online
Features a single, fully integrated platform, offering access to tens of thousands of full-length streaming video titles. Virtually every video in the collection is fully transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type. As a result, students and scholars can combine keyword and fielded search capabilities to frame creative and highly targeted queries. Users can also select to view a single video collection by using the dropdown menu at the top of the homepage of Academic Video Online.
American History in Video
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This release now provides 5,817 titles, equaling approximately 1,488 hours.
Black Studies in Video
Black Studies in Video--features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
Dance in Video
Will contain five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Education in Video
Over 4000 videos of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. Videos published 1960-2013.
Ethnographic Video Online
Provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
LGBT Studies in Video
LBGT Studies in Video-- is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. LGBT Studies in Video provides students and researchers across disciplines a multi-content perspective on the LGBT political, cultural and social movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. It also provides key resources of interest to students and researchers in sociology, anthropology, psychology, counseling, history, political science, gender studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.
New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present
New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present-- includes over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award winning short films. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have won major awards.
Silent Film Online
Silent Film Online-- brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASPs Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
Theatre in Video
Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
World History in Video
Is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Upon completion, the collection will contain 1,000 hours of streaming video that offers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.
Student Success Librarian, Assistant Professor
Kanopy - furnishes more than 30,000 streaming video titles for a broad variety of academic disciplines. An annual subscription is available on request for $150 per title. Owing to expense only faculty requests for mandatory class assignments will be honored. Students who generate a Kanopy request will be directed to contact their instructor.
Filmakers Library Online
Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculumrace and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Swank Digital Campus
Swank Digital Campus - the platform offers streaming video access to more than 25,000 titles. Swank partners with major Hollywood studios, independent filmmakers and international film companies to provide a diverse library of feature films, and documentaries. The wide range of titles ensures all academic departments can find the movies needed to promote active and engaged learning in their classrooms.
Faculty may request individual films for required classroom usage. Faculty requests are premised on creating a one-time faculty profile. To create a faculty profile, please go to the vendor's site and click on "Login":
On the next page, click on "Create Instructor Account" and submit the completed form:
Please allow a forty-eight hour window for approval and activation of individual requests.