Communication: Articles and Databases

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media.

Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources from the 1980s to the present. Updated daily.

An index of articles from nearly 12,500 journals addressing all academic areas. Coverage is 1990 to the present. ArticleFirst is in First Search. Some Full Text.

This database searches over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940. Links are provided to the full text of citations for the Chicago Defender.

This database gives access to a full-text backfile (excepting paid advertising) of the Chicago Tribune from 1985 to the current issue, Keyword searching can be free text or customized and limited to the previous three months, six months, or one year in addition to total holdings.

CQ Researcher--provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. The backfile for the database extends to 1923.

Explore DeKalb history through local news, events and people with the Daily Chronicle Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.

Variety of full text legal resources in PDF format, including more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals, the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.

Over 400 news sources from Illinois, from 1972 to the present, updated daily.

An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.

Kanopy - furnishes more than 30,000 streaming video titles for a broad variety of academic disciplines. An annual subscription is available on request for $150 per title. Owing to expense only faculty requests for mandatory class assignments will be honored. Students who generate a Kanopy request will be directed to contact their instructor.

Provides full text for 159 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor (for a total of 194 full text newspapers and other sources). Newspaper Source is part of the Ebsco family of databases.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations-- Provides bibliographic citations, and full-text access for doctoral dissertations and master's thesis completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide.

Includes indexes and abstracts for articles in sociology and related disciplines in 20,000 journals in 30 different languages. Doctoral dissertations and book reviews are also included. Includes some full text. Coverage is 1963 to the present.