Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mechatronics: Mechatronics Books

Mechatronics, "the synergetic integration of mechanical engineering with electronic and intelligent computer control in the design and manufacture of industrial products and processes". (1)

Specific Books & Reference Titles

To determine their availability in paper of as ebook, check the online catalog

• American electricians handbook, Croft, T., Summers, and W. Hartwell, F. 14th ed. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill, 2002.

• Comprehensive dictionary of electrical engineering, Laplante, P.A. 2nd ed. Boca Raton, FL: Taylor & Francis, 2005.

• Comprehensive semiconductor science and technology. Pallab Bhattacharya, P., Fornari, R, and Kamimura, H. eds. Amsterdam; London: Elsevier Science, 2011.

• The control handbook. Control system advanced methods, Levine, W.S. 2nd ed. Boca Raton: CRC Press, 2011.

• Corrosion handbook: Corrosive agents and their interaction with materials. Kreysa, G. Frankfurt, Germany: Wiley-VCH, 2008.

• CRC handbook of chemistry and physics. CRC Press. 2nd ed. Boca Raton FL: CRC Press, 2008.

• CRC handbook of mechanical engineering. Krieth, F. and Goswami, D.Y. eds. 2nd ed. Boca Raton FL: CRC Press, 2005.

• CRC handbook of thermal engineering. Krieth, F. eds. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2000.

• Dictionary of energy. Cleveland, C.J., Morris, C.G. eds. Amsterdam, Netherlands: Elsevier, 2015.

• Dictionary of mechanical engineering. Nayler, G.H.F. 4th ed. Warrendale, PA: Society of Automotive Engineers, 1996.

• Dictionary of organic compounds. Chapman and Hall 5 v. 5th ed. New York, NY: Chapman and Hall, 1982.

• Dictionary of organic compounds. Annual supplement. Chapman and Hall New York, NY: Chapman and Hall, 1983- .

• Digital signal processing: instant access. Broesch, J.D., Stranneby, D. and Walker, W. Amsterdam: Newnes/Elsevier, 2009.

• The electrical engineering handbook. Chen, W.K. eds. Boston, MA: Elsevier Academic Press, 2005.

• The electrical engineering handbook. Sensors, nanoscience, biomedical engineering, and instruments, Dorf, R.C. eds. 3rd ed. Boca Raton: CRC/Taylor & Francis, 2006.

• Electronic instrument handbook. Coombs, Clyde F. eds. 3rd ed. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill, 2000.

• Electronic packaging and interconnection handbook. Harper, Charles A. eds. 4th ed. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill, 2004.

• Encyclopedia of computational mechanics. Stein, E., Borst, R. and Hughes, T.J.R. eds. 3 v. New York, NY: John Wiley, 2007.

• Encyclopedia of computer science. Abrams, R.T. eds. New York, NY: Nova Science Publishers, 2012.

• Encyclopedia of electrochemical power sources. Garche, J. and Dyer, C.K. eds. Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2009.

• Encyclopedia of electronic circuits, Graf, R.F. and Sheets, W. 7 v. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill, 1999.

• Encyclopedia of energy, Pierce, Morris A., eds. 4 v. Ipswich, MA: Salem Press, 2113.

• Encyclopedia of fluid mechanics, Cheremisinoff, N.P. eds. 10 v. Houston, TX: Gulf Pub. Co., Book Division, (1986-1990). Supplements (1993-1994) 3 v.

• Encyclopedia of hydrological sciences. Anderson, M. G. and McDonnell, J.J. eds. 5 v. Chichester, England; J. Wiley, 2005.

• Encyclopedia of life sciences. Wiley and Sons Staff 20 v. London, England: John Wiley & Sons, 2005.

• Encyclopedia of mathematical physics. Françoise, J., Naber, G.L. and Tsou, S.T. Amsterdam, Netherlands: Elsevier, 2006.

• Encyclopedia of membrane science and technology. Vrijen Hoek, E.M. and Tarabara, V.V. eds. 3 v. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2013.

• Encyclopedia of polymer science and technology: plastics, resins, rubbers, fibers. Mark, H.F. and Bikales, N.M. eds. 16 v. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2011.

• Encyclopedia of software engineering. Laplante, P.A. eds. 2 v. Boca Raton, FL: Auerbach Publications, 2011.

• Focal illustrated dictionary of telecommunications. Mazda, X. and Mazda, F.F. Oxford, England: Focal, 1999.

• Guide to the use of tables and formulas in Machinery's handbook. Amiss, J.M., Jones, F.D., Ryffel, H.H., McCauley, C.J. and Oberg, E. eds. 30th ed. South Norwalk, CT: Industrial Press, 2016.

• Handbook of applied cryptography. Menezes, A. J.; Van Oorschot, P.C. and Vanstone, S.A. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 1997.

• Handbook of energy efficiency and renewable energy. Kreith, F. and Goswami, D.Y. eds. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2007.

• Handbook of practical electrical design. McPartland, J.F.; McPartland, B.J. 3rd ed. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill, 1999.

• Handbook of optomechanical engineering. Ahmad, A. 2nd ed. London, England: CRC Press, 2017.

• Handbook of semiconductor manufacturing technology. Doering, R. and Nishi, Y. eds. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2008.

• Heat exchanger design handbook. Kuppan, T. 2nd ed. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2013.

• Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology, Kroschwitz, J.I. and Seidel, A. 5th ed. 27 v. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley-Interscience, (2004-2007).

• Machinery's handbook. Oberg, E., Jones, F.D., Horton, H.L., and Ryffel, H.H. 30th ed. South Norwalk, CT: Industrial Press, 2016.

• Marks' standard handbook for mechanical engineers. Sadegh, A.M. and Worek, W.M. 12th ed. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill, 2018.

• Mechanical design engineering handbook. Childs, P.R.N. Oxford, England: Butterworth-Heinemann, 2014.

• Mechanical engineers' handbook. Kutz, M. (eds.) 4th ed. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2014.

• The mechatronics handbook. Bishop, R.H. eds. 2nd ed. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2008.

• MEMS handbook. Gad-el-Hak, M. 3 v. 2nd ed. Boca Raton, FL: CRC/Taylor & Francis, 2006.

• McGraw-Hill dictionary of scientific and technical terms. McGraw-Hill 6th ed. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill, 2003.

• McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology. McGraw-Hill 20 v. 11th ed. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill, 2012.

• McGraw-Hill's national electrical code handbook, Hartwell, F.P. McPartland, J.F. and McPartland, B.J. eds. 28th ed. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill Education LLC, 2014.

• Newnes dictionary of electronics. Amos, S.W., Dummer, G.W., and Amos, R. S. 4th ed. Oxford, England: Newnes, 2012.

• Newnes electrical power engineer's handbook. Warne, D.F. 2nd ed. Oxford: Newnes, 2005.

• Numerical recipes: the art of scientific computing. Press, W.H. 3rd ed. Cambridge, UK; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2007.

• Perry's chemical engineers' handbook. Perry, R.H. and Green, D.W. 8th ed. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill, 2008.

• The resource handbook of electronics. Whitaker, J.C. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2001.

• RF circuit design, Bowick, C., Blyler, J. and Ajluni, C.J. 2nd ed. Amsterdam; Boston: Newnes/Elsevier, 2008.

• Springer handbook of nanotechnology. Bhushan, B. 4th ed. Berlin, Germany: Springer, 2017.

• Standard handbook for electrical engineers, Beaty, H.W. and Fink, D.G. 16th ed. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill, 2013.

• Standard handbook of electronic engineering. Christiansen, D., Alexander, C.K. and Jurgen, R.K. 5th ed. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill, 2012.

• Van Nostrand's scientific encyclopedia. Considine, G.D. and Kulik, P.H. 3 v. 10th ed. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley-Interscience, 2008.

• Wiley encyclopedia of electrical and electronics engineering. 2 Webster, J.G. eds. 4 v. New York, NY: John Wiley, 1999.

• Wiley encyclopedia of electrical and electronics engineering. Supplement. Webster, J.G. eds. New York, NY: John Wiley, 2000- .

Selected introductory books on mechatronics

Check online catalog for NIU Libraries holdings (paper or ebook)

Alciatore, D.G. (2018), Introduction to Mechatronics and Measurement Systems. 5th ed. McGraw-Hill Education, New York, NY.

Bishop, R.H. (2006), Mechatronics: an Introduction. CRC Press, Boca Raton, FL.

Bishop, R.H. eds., (2008), Mechatronic System Control, Logic, and Data Acquisition. CRC Press, Taylor & Francis Group, Boca Raton, FL.

Bishop, R.H., eds. (2008), The Mechatronics Handbook. CRC Press, Boca Raton, FL.

Cetinkunt, S. (2007), Mechatronics. John Wiley & Sons, Hoboken, NJ.

Cetinkunt, S. (2015), Mechatronics with Experiments, 2nd ed. Wiley, Chichester, West Sussex, United Kingdom.

Cho, H.S. eds., (2003), Opto-mechatronic Systems Handbook: Techniques and Applications. CRC Press, Boca Raton, FL.

De Silva, C.W. (2005), Mechatronics: an Integrated Approach. CRC Press, Boca Raton, FL.

De Silva, C.W. (2008), Mechatronic Systems: Devices, Design, Control, Operation and Monitoring. CRC Press, Taylor & Francis, Boca Raton, FL.

Habib, M.K., eds. (2015), Handbook of Research on Advancements in Robotics and Mechatronics. Engineering Science Reference, Hershey, PA.

Necsulescu, D. S. (2002), Mechatronics. Prentice Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ.

Onwubolu, G.C. (2010), Mechatronics: Principles and Applications. Elsevier Butterworth Heinemann, Amsterdam, Netherlands.

Rankers, A.M. (1997), Machine Dynamics in Mechatronic Systems an Engineering Approach. University of Twente, Enschede, Netherlands.

Schmidt, R.M. (2014), The Design of High Performance Mechatronics: High-tech Functionality by Multidisciplinary System Integration. 2nd ed. Delft University Press, Amsterdam, Netherlands.

Smaili, A. & Mrad, F. (2008), Applied Mechatronics. Oxford University Press, New York, NY.

e-Book Collections

Partial holdings of ebook are represented with an asterisk (*), they need to be search by individual title in the online catalog.

Knovel library. Knovel Corporation, Norwich, NY.

AccessEngineering. McGraw-Hill, New York, NY.

*CRCnetBASE. CRC Press, Boca Raton, FL; Taylor & Francis, London. Search online catalog for specific titles.

*Synthesis digital library of engineering and computer science. Morgan & Claypool, San Rafael, CA. Search online catalog for specific titles.

ASM handbooks online. ASM International, Materials Park, OH. NIU Library has paper edition.

*Taylor & Francis eBooks. Taylor & Francis, London. Search online catalog for specific titles.

AccessScience. McGraw-Hill, New York, NY.

SpringerMaterials: the Landolt-Börnstein database. Springer-Verlag, Berlin, Germany.

*Springer E-books. Springer-Verlag, Berlin, Germany. Search online catalog for specific titles.

*Wiley online library. John Wiley & Sons, Wiley, Hoboken, NJ. Search online catalog for specific titles.